Cat cRaZy

Well, it’s official… I’ve become a “cat person.”

I didn’t mean for it to happen.  Really I didn’t.  I’ve always considered myself to be more of a dog person.  Dogs are so much fun and the stereotypes that cats have are quite the turn off.  But now that I have cats… I know better.

Hi, I’m Julie, and I’m a cat person.

Make fun of me if you want, but I’m no longer ashamed to admit it.  I’m crazy about my cats!

My cats bring an unbelievable amount of joy and sense of contentment to my life.  Even amidst (especially amidst) the most difficult times.

Their names are Sugar and Baby.  If you’d like to hear about them and be inundated with fuzzy wuzzy cuddly photos of them then keep reading.

Heeeeere’s Sugar…

My ex husband brought her home to me one morning in the wee hours just before daylight.  He worked over-nights at the time and had been on his way home when he spotted some baby kittens on the side of the road.  He wasn’t able to rescue all of them because they ran away and hid.  But he did manage to capture my precious little Sugar.

Here is one of the earliest photos I have of her.  Be ready…. the cuteness factor here may overwhelm you!

Now isn’t she just about the cutest little thing that you’ve ever laid eyes on?!  Look at that little face!   Yep, sweet as “sugar” ~ she stole my heart immediately.  ♥

~

She’s super smart and inquisitive about everything.  She can break into rooms, closets, cabinets, you name it.  If she wants in bad enough there’s no keeping her out.  She can even open doors.  And she’s always in our business.  Doesn’t matter what we’re doing… she wants to be right there in the middle of it all.

Exhibit A.  The photo below was just taken last night while we were putting up the Christmas tree.  See… she’s right in there with the Christmas lights as we were untangling them…

But even though she’s always in our business, she is very obedient and rarely gets into trouble.  From a very young age she just behaved and when we did have to tell her no, she listened.  She’s such a good little kitty girl.  ♥

~

Well, except in this next photo… She was lounging on my dining room table.  Which she is NOT supposed to be on!  I wasn’t home at the time and rather than kicking her off, apparently my daughter ~ who is a budding photographer, decided to use the opportunity to take a cute picture…

~

Sugar is also a talking cat and one of these days my daughter and I are going to try and record some of the many conversations we have with her on a daily basis.  Of course she speaks in cat language so we have absolutely no idea what she is saying, but it’s so freaking adorable!

This is one of my favorite photos of Sugar.  My daughter captured this adorable shot of her one day while Sugar was napping on her bed….

And here’s another one that is equally as adorable…~

Several years ago, Sugar had a litter of kittens.  Omygosh that was such an amazing experience!  I had always heard that when an expectant mother cat is ready to deliver she will go and hide somewhere to have them.  But not Sugar.  She came and got me.  I was sitting at my computer and she jumped up on the chair next to me.  She had a strange expression on her face and was sitting kind of weird.  Then she meowed and jumped down and I saw a wet spot on the chair.  She just stood there looking at me like she was waiting for me so I asked “Are you ready to have your babies?”  She meowed again and I could tell the answer was “yes”.  So I led her upstairs to our guestroom where I had made a spot for her weeks earlier.  She followed me, jumped right up there and started having her babies.  Purring all the while and tending so lovingly to each little wet globby kitten that came along.

She had five.  Five little precious honey pies. ♥

~

And this is where Baby comes in…

Baby is one of the kittens from Sugar’s litter that we decided to keep.  She was the runt.  She’s not a runt now ~she’s bigger than Sugar.  All she does is eat and lay around so she’s quite a little chubba wubbs.  In the photo above she’s the one in the middle front of the shot.

And this is an early one of her by herself.  So little…

~

Baby is my smooshy little cuddle bug.  She is so affectionate and sweet and such a comfort to me.  She doesn’t really like to be held or picked up, but she loves to lay on me.  It usually has to be on her terms, but a lot of the time she seems to know when I’m upset and her cuddly timing is purrfect.

Let me tell you… that having a warm, soft, purring cat laying on you is one of the most comforting, reassuring, and peaceful feelings in the world.  Sometimes when everything else in life is all discombobulated and overwhelming… all I have to do is pet my cats.  I know… it sounds dumb and maybe even overly simple, but it’s true.

Here are a couple of cute shots of Baby that my daughter took…

~

Baby sleeps with me a lot and in the past on some nights she used to even sort of nag me when she wanted me to go to bed so she could cuddle.  It was a cute nag though because she has the cutest meow in the world.  Even though Sugar is our “talking cat”… when Baby meows your heart absolutely melts.  “Resistance is futile” because it’s the sweetest sound you’ll ever hear.  Sometimes she’ll come and wake me up in the morning with her sweet little meowing.  Usually it’s because her food dish is empty, but there is no way I can ever wake up crabby with such an adorable sounding alarm clock. ♥

Leaning over the side of my bed, I snapped this shot of her with my cell phone one morning when she was “alarm clocking” me…

Yep… no way you could be crabby about this waking you up is there?  Didn’t think so!  🙂

~

I guess that’s about it for now on my cats.  But before you go, here is one of the two of them together. This is a rare occasion because Baby has become top cat and Sugar gets annoyed.  It’s taken with my cell so it’s not the best quality, but still adorable!

~

Don’t let stereotypes about cats fool you ~ they have the ability to fill your life with so much love!

The little girl in this video is so random…

13 responses to “Cat cRaZy

  1. Love me some Kitty time too. These were some great shots of your cats. Guess I am a Cat person as well. I have one too, or Dejah has one, her name is I.D.D.I. ( I Didn’t Do It ) Lol 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Simple Comfort of a Cat | Ramblings From Jewels

  3. Aw shucks, I might lose my Man Card for saying it, but this post was really cute 🙂 How cool was it that your cat had kittens, right in the place you prepared for her! (answer: very cool)

    Like

    • I know, I had always heard that they go and hide to give birth so I was surprised when she came and got me when she went into labor. She may have delivered her babies in the spot I prepared for her, but a day or two later she brought them all down into a box in the basement. It was so cute though because the box had a little doll bed and stuffed animals in it. Would have been messy if she had delivered in there, but it was a purrfect place for tending to them afterwards. 🙂

      Like

  4. I think you may have changed a few minds of those who stereotype cats as a turn off, great post Julie.x

    Like

  5. mylivoniaranchhome

    Sugar and Baby are beautiful!

    Like

  6. mylivoniaranchhome

    I enjoyed reading your story about Sugar and Baby! Thanks for sending the link with the Sad Cat Diary….too funny. My kids watched over my shoulder and laughed too! Thank you!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

