On The Street Where I Live

For the past couple of weeks, each time as I come and go from my apartment, I keep noticing how much I like the way this street lamp looks set against the blossoms of this tree, so this afternoon I decided to try and take a photo of it with my cell phone as I was leaving.

I know there is something to be said for the time of day, and lighting and such, as well as the quality of one’s camera when trying to capture a scene, but I can’t be bothered about all of that in my daily comings and goings ~ I just have to grab opportunities here and there as I go along.  So here’s how it turned out looking at around 1:00 this afternoon ~ and after I tweaked it a bit with some photo editing software…

I’m sure the little glowing ball smudge thingies are probably considered  a fault or mistake to do with the lighting or something, but I actually like the effect they add to the photo.  It’s all in the eye of the beholder right?

Heck, you might even be thinking “big deal… it’s a street lamp, and a tree… not exactly something to write about…” but I guess it’s the simple every day things that tend to float my boat.

You know the saying “take time to stop and smell the roses?”  Well, I take that to heart on a regular basis.  There is beauty all around us if we only pause long enough to notice it…

My Street 2

~

7 responses to “On The Street Where I Live

  1. Pretty picture! It’s very serene.

    Like

  2. Julie, between blogging and photo-taking, I think you have a very promising career ahead of you!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Simon, I hope you’re right! Still waiting on the Lord to show me what direction I should take in the way of a career and such. Thanks for stopping by my blog today, and for your comment. Have I told you lately just how much I value your friendship? 🙂

      Like

      • Aw shucks, thanks Julie! I think you’re awesome, and I really like reading your blog posts. You think of the coolest stuff to do, and find incredible ways to look on the bright side of things in the midst of so much darkness.

        Like

      • Yeah, but you’re the one with a blog called “The Bright Side” 😉 Glad you’re back to writing it by the way…

        Like

      • Thanks! I hope I can keep it up, but we do enough things around the house that I think I will be able to sustain it. Keeping my fingers crossed though…

        Like

I'd love to hear from you!

