Adventures in Gardening Part 12 ~ What a Difference a Day Makes

Because of the weather and with my being busy doing other things, It’s been a few days since I’ve done any gardening, but it’s amazing to see all that can happen in a garden within the span of just a few days!  (Having it raining buckets tends to make a difference too ;))

~

Like “a watch pot that never boils”… I have been eagerly watching and waiting for my zucchini to pop up and here they finally are!

It’s pretty much common knowledge among most gardeners that zucchini can produce such a bountiful harvest, it’s way more than any one person could ever possibly use or want.  Not for me!  I love zucchini and even tend to hoard mine.  I guess you could call me zucchini greedy.  😉  I have a multitude of recipes that call for zucchini and always find a way to use it.  In the past, on those rare occasions when I have found myself with more zucchini than I could use up in a timely manner, I would just shred it, measure it in 3 cup increments, and put it into freezer bags to use later for breads, muffins, and cakes.  Sometimes I’d share it too.  😉  We’ll have to wait and see how much zucchini I end up with this year from this tiny garden…

~

It’s about time the dang carrots came up!  They were one of the first things I planted.  I had a hard time getting a decent shot of them because they are still barely noticeable…

~

My spinach have started growing their 2nd set of leaves!

They look funny ~ like they have outstretched open arms.  Guess they’re just happy to see me.  😉

~

My peas are getting taller!

And look at how happy they all are in their little pot ~ I swear they are smiling…

~

The new thing I planted this week was my cucumber seeds!  I can’t wait to see how they climb up the trellis I made…

~

The last time I looked, my lettuce was barely poking up through the dirt, but now were already needing to be thinned.  Because they get planted in groups of 6 seeds, that means wasting the other 5 seedlings.  😦

They were so sad laying there looking all depressed and discarded after I yanked them all up that I couldn’t bear it, so I’ve ended up having 12 plants in my garden now instead of 8.  Guess we’ll be eating a lot of salads.  I can’t be the only one who feels this way… does anyone else ever have a hard time just tossing those other little lifes when it comes time for thinning?

~

Another issue I have is keeping my dirt looking tidy.  Haha!  Dirt… tidy?  Can dirt even be tidy?  I think, yes!  It’s kinda like how after vacuuming the carpet, it looks so nice that you don’t want anyone to walk on it.  A lot of the time after I’m done doing anything in the garden I have to “fluff up” the dirt to make it look fresh.  Unfortunately, the soil I bought for this box garden has quite a bit of debris in it so it seriously messes with my need for dirt tidiness.  Maybe I’m just weird.  Maybe it’s gardening OCD.

“Maybe it’s Maybelline”

~

9 responses to “Adventures in Gardening Part 12 ~ What a Difference a Day Makes

  1. TIdy dirt… I thought I was the only one. 😉

    Like

  2. My spelling is so messed up… tidy dirt. 😉

    Like

  3. Another fellow garden lover! We will take over the world with our plant children. Muahahahahaha!

    Like

    • LOL @ “plant children!!!” That’s exactly what the peas remind me of ~ little plant children! Too funny! Thanks for stopping by and commenting and making me laugh!

      Like

  4. I have no room for a garden in my yard ( mostly shade ) but I do have a spot in the sun I would love to use … How do you build raised plant beds ? I love your ideas and pics !

    Like

    • It was new for me to have a raised garden bed and my sis helped me build it. We just used 2 x 6 sized boards of cedar, made a rectangle shape and made it I think 6 boards high. Here’s the link to the post I wrote when we built it Part 4. I had to make it high because I have bad knees and can’t crawl around on the ground anymore like I used to. 😉

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

