A Birthday of Ducks, Roses, Lakes, Zombies and The Loch Ness Monster

It was my birthday this past week.

I didn’t have any specific plans, but I knew I wanted to spend the day outdoors, so I grabbed my little family and we took off for a drive around some of the wonderful lakes we have here in the Twin Cities along the Grand Rounds National Scenic Byway.

We found this awesome spot on Lake Nokomis and stopped for a picnic.~

And we had a little company.  These ducks came to join in on our festivities/to beg for food.  😉

So we decided to share.  When I was little, my dad used to take us kids to the park to feed the squirrels and ducks. ♥  If you’ve followed my blog for long, you already know how I feel about squirrels, but I love ducks!

~

This little guy was our favorite!  He kept tilting his head to the side and looking at us with his one eye.  Sooo darn cute!  🙂~

These two are pretty cute too!  My mom and sis ~ love them so much!  ♥~

And this girl is the most precious thing in all the world to me!  ♥~

My sis gave me this gorgeous tie dyed caftan for my birthday.  😀~

After our picnic we stopped at Lyndale Park Rose Garden near Lake Harriet.~

And enjoyed row after row after row of fragrant beauty…

~

Speaking of beauty… here’s my beauty of a daughter sitting among some of the Salvia plantings they had there. ~

You can’t tell from this photo, but this here is the most GIGANTIC bumble bee I’ve ever seen in my entire life!  It was seriously a freak of nature!  I wish I could have caught a better photo of it, but it was on the move ~ probably to go and chow down more nectar to try and sustain its massiveness.  😉~

Lyndale Park Peace Garden and Robert’s Bird Sanctuary are located across the road from the Rose Garden.  It was equally as lovely there, but we didn’t take many photos.  Although, my sis took this one with her cell.  There were some pretty cool rock formations situated here and there with little living things growing in the cracks and crevasses.~

  While we were exploring one of the paths, it wound along side a cemetery.  We noticed several places where the fence was torn.  It was sorta eerie.  Are people trying to get in?  Or out?~

Then my daughter noticed these mysterious markings on the path and was convinced that zombies were on the loose.  Such an imagination, I don’t know where she gets it from…~

As we continued our drive along Minneapolis’ Grand Rounds National Scenic Byway and Chain of Lakes we also saw Nessie!  So that’s why they can’t find her in Loch Ness… she’s hanging out in Cedar Lake in Minneapolis.  😉

~

I  wrapped up my day with a family dinner at The Green Mill and then cake at my mom’s.  It was a very nice day.  Thanks for letting me share the highlights of it with you!  🙂

~

10 responses to “A Birthday of Ducks, Roses, Lakes, Zombies and The Loch Ness Monster

  1. Wow Julie, it looks like you had a great day and you and your family look so very happy. You look lovely in that caftan your sister bought you.

    You could be onto a winner there, you have discovered why Loch Ness has not been found in Scotland ha ha.

    Great post.x

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Chris! It was a very nice day with my little family. ♥ Thank you, I love my new caftan, it’s so colorful and comfy! I know, I could become famous with this unexpected discovery! 😉 x

      Like

  2. Looks like you all had a great time, its times like these that everyone who went cherishes and remembers for years to come.

    Like

  3. Wow Julie, all those pics are from the Twin Cities? So cool! You really do live in a great location. And tell your daughter that she has a knack for picking out good presents. That caftan is awesome!

    Like

  4. Sorry to have missed your birthday post. The rock formation is so neat! See you lucked out with some new tie dye! Awesome! Your family always looks so super happy! I love that. I wonder what made the prints in the sand?
    Happy belated birthday!

    Like

    • Thanks! 🙂 I think it was a squirrel that made those marks along the path outside of the cemetery because I saw one skittering around. Squirrels like to “haunt” me wherever I go, apparently. 😉

      Like

  5. Happy Late Birthday, Julie! I’m glad it was a great day. Those were beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

