Stepping Outside of Myself

I woke up with so much on my mind this morning and feeling so completely overwhelmed by everything I have going on and everything I have to do.  I was laying there trying to sort it all out in my head and was just going around and around in endless circles.

I have always had a great ability to see the bright side of things and to have hope and peace of mind even through difficult times, but it’s a process.  And there are various stages along the way in that process that bring me to that place.

Sometimes the process takes a bit longer than other times.

And sometimes even when I’ve reached my little epiphany and come to that place, I still have to fight to keep it going or it slips through my grasp when the circumstances continue to overwhelm.

This morning it was a matter of stepping outside of myself.  To stop focusing on all the stuff I’m trying to balance, and just lay it all down.  Surrender.  (Breathe) Not giving up, but surrendering to the fact that I can’t do it all, I can’t figure it all out.  And I don’t have to.

I spent a few minutes praying about everything, and then let it all go.  Release. (Breathe) Afterward I sat and listened to some amazing praise and worship music for about 2 hours.  Talk about stepping outside of yourself…

Gradually, it all melted away.  All the worry, the fears, the frustrations.  Everything will be okay.  It really will.  Assurance.  (Breathe)  And with that I slowly began realizing again how truly grateful I am for my life.  And everything in it.  There’s nothing quite like a good dose of feeling grateful to snap you out of your stress and self pity.  Gosh, look at it…  Life.  It really is an amazing gift.  And no matter what I’ve got going on, I am still so very blessed and fortunate.  For real.

And now instead of looking inward and focusing on myself and all that I’ve got going on, I find that I’m looking outward, at the other precious people in my life and out there in the world.  And how I can be a source of love and light to them.

Stepping outside of myself…

~

11 responses to “Stepping Outside of Myself

  1. We really do have so much to be grateful for. My husband did a job for this guy last month. He said to him one morning what a beautiful day it was and the guy said this:
    Let me tell you something, Every day is a miracle.Every day is beautiful, It’s the people who mess it up.
    I like that. 🙂
    You’re one of the good ones!

    Like

  2. Jewels, you always have a way of seeing things in a way that makes it easy to see the other side of things. Of course, putting it that way, you are going to be the only one that understands that. Thanks for helping me “see” that other side. 😀

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed reading this post Jewels, Gratitude really is an emotion that shows appreciation for our gift of life and you seem to have heaps and heaps of it. Sometimes it’s hard to remember that life is to be enjoyed when there is so much going on around us.x

    Like

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed reading it, Chris. Being grateful really does do the trick to snap us into a better frame of mind. There is always something we can find to be grateful for, even in the very simplest of things. Just breathing for instance ~ it’s so easy to take things like that for granted, but the very breath of life is a great gift. Too often it’s easier to focus on all the sucky stuff going on because it tends to be noisier and so it’s more demanding of our attention. Sometimes it’s just a matter of letting the music of our hearts play louder than all the noise of our anxious thoughts.x

      Like

  4. Julie, you are so right when you say you have a great ability to see the bright side of things. You are better at this than almost anyone I know, and I still don’t know how you have managed to hang in there with everything that has happened in your life these past few years. I do know that God has amazing plans for you, and when I think about what’s in store for you in the coming years I just think…look out world! ‘Cuz it’s gonna be awesome! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement, Simon, it’s sincerely appreciated! It certainly has been a rough road these past few years, but I really do have a lot to be thankful in spite of it all. Still waiting to be let in on those awesome plans that are in store for me though. 😉

      Like

  5. BTW, if you haven’t listened to the new Owl City album, I think you’d dig it. This track made me think of you and all you’ve been through. Your fire has, by the grace of God, never died and is, in many ways, burning even more brightly than it ever has 🙂 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tNknh8BdK-A

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

