Adventures in Gardening Part 33 ~ Winding Down

Guess I’m just about finished with this year’s gardening adventures.  It was down right cold out this morning and I’m afraid the temps are soon going to dip down far enough to bring an end to the last remaining growing things in my tiny garden.  I love fall, but it is always sad to have to say goodbye to the growing season.

I really hope the cold weather holds off long enough for my bell peppers to finish turning yellow.  I’ve been waiting forever~

There are still tons of jalapenos growing out there too, although most of them are much smaller in size now.  ~

That’s about it for what is still growing out there as far a veggies go.  I also have some celery struggling along after being shaded all season by my zucchini and a bunch of tiny green tomatoes I don’t have much hope for.

My herbs are still thriving and I will be very sad to see them go.  I’m still looking into seeing if I can bring my lavender inside over the winter to keep it going, I love it so much!

The blooming things are also winding down.  In my Mmm Autumn post I mentioned that I was digging out my old camera to get reacquainted with because my daughter didn’t like me using hers so much, and I was hoping that it would take as nice of photos.  Well, I am pleased to report that I believe it does.  I was very happy with the way this next shot turned out while I was experimenting with it…

The Sedum I planted for my mom years ago is blooming and I caught a fuzzy little bumble bee enjoying this one.  🙂~

In fact, the bumble bees are very active right now ~ I was also able to catch this one sampling my mint blossoms.I’m not a huge fan of bees in general, but the fuzzy bumblers are kinda cute and it’s always a good sign to see them buzzing around my plants. 🙂

~

I’m so grateful to have been able to have a garden this year after being without one for the past few years.  It was a completely new way of gardening for me ~ going from having acres of land out in the country to a tiny 4 x 8 raised box in the heart of the city, but even having only that small bit of growing space fed not only my body, but my soul as well…

~Gardening is my therapy~

2 responses to “Adventures in Gardening Part 33 ~ Winding Down

  1. hi sweet pea~
    we still have peppers & herbs~i tried our eggplant & it was perfect~
    you have a wonderful touch with everything you do julie~
    love & big huggies to ya~

    Like

    • Hi Patty, 🙂 I’m so glad your eggplant turned out, I have yet to try eating eggplant let alone grow some, but it is pretty looking (purple ;)). Thanks so much, love and big hugs right back atcha, my friend! ♥

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

