Communication

Isn’t it wonderful when you read a story or watch a movie that touches your heart in just the right place?  That goes down to that deep place inside of you and resonates in such a way that it actually inspires you to want to do something in your real life or change something in your way of thinking to help make you a better person or improve your life?  Or hasn’t that ever happened to you?  Heck, maybe it’s just me, I know I’m a bit weird and somewhat different from other people.  😉

But seriously, gosh, to be that good of a writer or movie director to be able to tell a story that has that kind of power to truly influence others in that way would be so amazing!  I think it’s all about being able to communicate effectively.  To be able to convey a thought or a feeling using words or pictures and have it reach another person in a way they can understand and relate to.  And there are sooo many different ways to communicate.  Oh how I love when I’m watching a movie and the mere expression in an actor/actress’ eyes tell it all.  Or when I’m reading and the words being used to describe something paint such a vivid picture in my mind that I can actually see it, and feel it.

Being able to communicate in that type of way is truly a gift, I wish I had it.  I have all of one segment written down of a nearly entire story that lives inside my head, and it took such great effort to get it written down and worded somewhat properly that it may never get any further than that.  Trying to write a made-up story is completely different than writing about and sharing the ins and outs of every-day-life type of stuff.

Communicating well and connecting with others is so very important to me, and whether it’s through writing or while talking, I think for the most part I usually do a pretty good job.  Although, every once in a while a misunderstanding or miscommunication is bound to happen.  The key is to be a good listener.  I think I’m a good listener, at least I hope I am.  I know that sometimes I need to be careful not to get so intent about something that I want to share that I fail to listen properly.  I can be a bit on the hyper side at times, especially if I’m excited about something.  😀

But it really is so important to be a good listener.  To me, being a good listener means to sincerely care about the other person and what they are saying.  I saw a quote once that said something like “The first duty of love, is to listen” and I really like that.  Sometimes showing love to others isn’t only about what you do for them, it’s about just simply being truly present there with them in their own moment as they share.  And not only listening, but hearing.  Communicating well goes both ways, it’s not just about expressing your own self.

Anyway, I don’t really know what my point here is…

How’s that for communicating?!  Hahaha!

I guess I’m just feeling all mushy because I like it when I feel things when I’m watching a movie, and I’m wishing I could do such a thing as to inspire others and make them feel stuff too.

Ya know, we all have these blogs as a forum to express and share our thoughts, feelings, interests, etc. with others, and we can only hope that our posts affect and influence others in some way that touches their lives with meaning.  Well, that’s why I have mine anyway.  Whether I accomplish that or not still remains to be seen.  I have tons of drafts that I’ve never published because sometimes I’m embarrassed to share them, thinking “oh my followers don’t want to hear about that” or because I don’t want to be a depressing downer when I’m feeling low because I always want to be a source of light and encouragement to others.

But maybe, just maybe, all of that doesn’t really matter because the thing about the internet is that you just never know who may happen across your path (blog) and just perhaps what you may have to say on any given day (even the embarrassing or depressing stuff) could possibly make them feel something that makes all the difference in their day.  Even if it’s just a laugh,  just a tear, or even just a slight sense of relatedness, to have any sort of affect on another person by what I have to share is a big deal to me.

And one last thought…

It is my firm belief that words are powerful and should not be used carelessly.  Another quote comes to mind here…  “Words and hearts should be handled with care, for words when spoken and hearts when broken are the hardest things to repair.”

7 responses to “Communication

  1. Writing is hard, The hardest part is just doing it. Start writing, spilling out on paper…(computer) and once you get it all out then go back and fix it. I know you are a lot like me, you think you have to do it right the first time, but you can do it. I have all the FAITH in the world in you. Love ya Soul Sister. ❤

    Like

    • But I don’t like it when it’s hard (insert whining voice). 😉 It’s better when it just flows naturally. You’re right though… I do “think I have to do it right the first time.” Thanks for having faith in me, that makes me want to try. I love you too, precious soul sister friend! ♥

      Like

  2. Okay…spill…I want to know what book or movie touched you enough to write this post. 😉
    I think you communicate very well. Most blogs I tend to follow is for that reason. Because they ARE great to read. I lack that in a big way. Face to face, no problem. Writing it just seems so unnatural and awkward for me. I end up being blunt and to-the-point. If I attempt to make it readable, entertaining or any thing else, it ends up a huge fail!
    You are a breath of fresh air! Creative, fun, inspiring and real. Just my opinion.
    Listening. I agree. Sometimes that is all someone needs.

    Like

    • Haha! Well… I’ve been watching quite a few good movies lately, but most recently was “Under the Tuscan Sun.” Gosh, I related to so many things in that movie, I absolutely loved it! Thanks so much for saying I’m “a breath of fresh air, creative, fun inspiring, and real.” I can’t think of a more wonderful compliment, seriously! ♥ And I happen to think your writing is perfectly fine, I always enjoy reading your posts. 🙂

      Like

  3. That was a great movie. I love Sandra Oh! She’s a great actress. I am a sucker for a good chick flick. Have you seen “How Do You Know?”

    Like

    • It is a great movie. I had already seen it before years ago and remembered liking it, so when it came on I thought I’d watch it again. This time it just really hit home, I cried almost the entire movie (and not just at the typical sad parts), I’m not sure what the deal was, I’m extra emotional lately, I guess. 😉 Yeah, Sandra Oh is a great actress, so funny! No, I haven’t seen “How do you know.” Is it good?

      Like

      • I loved it. Funny and good chick flick all in one. Sorry you are feeling blue. 😦 I get like that sometimes. A good cry while watching something that touches you almost feels like a relief, like it just needed to get out.

        Like

I'd love to hear from you!

