Winter Sunset

Well, I didn’t end up being able to see the comet Pan-STARRS when I went out to look for it last night, the sky was a bit too overcast.  I was really disappointed because I was so looking forward to it, but I was mostly upset because the reason it was “overcast” was due to the massive amounts of contrails left behind by aircraft that were repeatedly flying back and forth overhead.  What the heck are they doing up there anyway?!  I always get angry when I see them because they destroy the beautiful, crisp blue sky and make it all hazy.  Grrr!

But even as annoyed as I was about that, it did provide some pretty hues of color for the sunset.  So when I stopped focusing on the fact that they were “fake” clouds, I was able to enjoy the beauty of it, and I snapped a few photos.  I wish I had a nicer camera, but it did capture the lovely colors I was seeing…

DSCF0200b

~

Oddly, this next shot was taken about 15 minutes earlier than the photo above, except from a different vantage point on the hill where I was.  One cool thing about sunsets is the variety of changes they go through as they progress.  I would have never thought this would have ended up turning into the bright pinks and purples in the previous photo…

DSCF0182a

~

I plan to go out each evening to try and catch a glimpse of the comet, so hopefully I’ll get my opportunity.  But if not, perhaps I’ll still have some pretty sunsets to look at.

~

4 responses to “Winter Sunset

  1. Nice photos, Julie. Thanks for sharing them!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

