Thinking Thoughts About Thinking

During my quiet time this morning I had a few random insights come to me.

I found myself feeling a bit scrambled, my thoughts were kinda bouncing all over the place.  As I sat there taking my first sips of coffee, I began feeling more and more anxious, and I could sense some underlying feeling of worry or dread.  And as I contemplated it all, trying to analyze where it was coming from, that feeling increased, more thoughts came crashing in, and as a result they produced more unsettled feelings.  Sometimes I get too much up inside my head, but I sort of like being that way though because I like to feel like I’m in touch with everything that is going on with me, and I like to try and understand myself.  Hah!

Well, while this all was happening I was also acutely aware that I was the one allowing my thoughts to run amuck.  I don’t have to think whatever just pops into my head, and I don’t have to let my thoughts dictate to me what mood I’m going to be in for the day.  I can direct my thoughts, take control over them and not let them control me.

The thing with thoughts is that they produce feelings, whatever you are thinking will affect what you’re feeling.  I want to feel happy and good (heck, don’t we all?), but in order to do that I have to get my way of thinking to line up accordingly.

People talk about not being ruled by your emotions, well that’s all fine and good, but the simple fact is that we usually are.  What I think is that we need to take control of our thoughts, and not be ruled by our thoughts.  As we rule them, we will also then inadvertently have control over our emotions as well.  Bingo!  Lightbulb!

And not only do our thoughts produce feelings, but our thoughts give off energy too.  And I believe we draw and attract things to ourselves based on what sort of energy we are giving off.  I have seen the manifestation of this theory in my own life.  I’m not going to elaborate any further on that right now though because I’m writing about something else.  😉

Once the feelings get involved it’s much harder to take control of your thoughts, emotions can be so powerful, but even as hard as it is, it’s also simple and basic… you just choose.  But once you choose, the next thing you need to do is start taking action that helps you make that choice.  Find something that forces a shift in your way of thinking, causes a conscious effort on your part that demonstrates your decision.  For me this morning it was a quote from the Bible that came to mind that helped me take action.  Now, regardless of your own personal beliefs, you’ve got to admit this is some pretty good advice…

“… whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, let your mind dwell on these things.”

Incidentally, the preceding verses to that one are all about rejoicing, not being anxious, being thankful, and having peace.  Which indicates to me that by doing this ~ changing the way you think and choosing to think about good things, is part of the answer to obtaining those.  So I did just that.  And as I reflected on what is true, what is lovely, what is praiseworthy etc., I wrote it down in my journal and I slowly began to feel better.  I directed my thoughts toward good things and that resulted in changing my emotions, which then also produced more positive thoughts, and then at the end… a deep sense of gratitude for everything in my life.  I must say that I’m feeling pretty darn good right now in comparison to how I was feeling earlier.  🙂  And gratitude is the key.

I may go even further and possibly do a study on each of those words ~ true, honorable, right, pure, and lovely, so that I can fully grasp their meaning and apply them accordingly with regard to my thoughts.

But not today, because in a little while I’m going to head out to a few garden centers and peruse among the “lovely” things, to get those creative gardening juices flowing.  The sun is shining, the birds are chirping, spring is coming, and I’m feeling excited about being able to get back out in my garden ~ in spite of the fact that it’s only 20 degrees outside right now.  😉

One other random thought that I had this morning is a bit on the silly side.  I received a set of four beautifully handmade crocheted snowflake ornaments from a friend for Christmas, and they are so pretty that I couldn’t bring myself to pack them away with the rest of the Christmas decorations, so I hung them on a plant that I have in my bedroom.  Well, I got to thinking… maybe having these still out is somehow prolonging winter.  Haha silly I know, but I took them down just in case.  😉

But not before I snapped a picture.

DSCF0156a

Farewell pretty little snowflakes, it’s time for spring

and time to think of gardening things.

~

10 responses to “Thinking Thoughts About Thinking

  1. Love your blog, Julie. You know, I was doing the same thing last night. Letting my thoughts get the better of me which turned my emotions sour. Why do we focus on the negative so frequently? Not a good idea right before bed! So I intentionally chose to recall all the GOOD things I’ve seen God do for me over the last several years. It brought me back to a place of peace so I could fall asleep (after a late night snack, that is :). Thanks for sharing – I enjoy your writing. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Sandy, that means a lot, and I’m so glad you like it! 🙂 I don’t usually tend to focus on the negative, I’m pretty optimistic for the most part, but I sure let the worries and fears sneak in there and mess with me quite a bit from time to time. I really don’t know why I ever worry though because all I see when I look back over my life, is how blessed and fortunate I am, and how much I have to be thankful for even in spite of my troubles. I’m glad to hear that after intentionally choosing to recall God’s goodness (and your late night snack 😉 ) that you were able to find a place of peace and fall asleep. I’m heading off to sleep soon here myself right after I finish typing this reply, I had a wonderful time at the garden centers today and I’m bushed. But it’s a good sort of bushed. And as I drift off to sleep my mind will be filled with good thoughts. Hope yours is too! 🙂

      Like

  2. I love crocheted snowflakes. They look so pretty on a dark green Christmas tree amongst all the other ornaments. You have a nice friend.
    Sometimes we need to think about unpleasant things too to work things out on how we want to handle them….(or we can have weird dreams to do that, lol). And sometimes we have all the answers we need but in the right time. I’m glad you could change your mindset and go garden hunting. I saw quite a few people going to the Conservatory today to get a taste of spring too. Here’s a little tip: Put a pencil in your mouth so its touching each side of your mouth. This uses the same muscles you use to smile. If you leave it there a while you will actually become happier as you are using your “SMILE” muscles. And if that doesn’t work, you will be laughing for doing this crazy thing. It works!

    Like

    • I love them too, they’re so delicate and pretty. I do have a nice friend. 🙂 My sister bought a book last week on how to make them, so I think maybe after she learns how I might ask her to teach me too. Back when I wrote my Cool Old Stuff post, I mentioned that while going through some things at my mom’s house, I had found dozens of lovely crocheted doilies and potholders that my Grandma, my Great Aunt, and my Great Grandma made. I think it would be kinda cool if my sister and I learned how to crochet some little lovlies of our own like that to sort of carry on the tradition. Once we finish redecorating the downstairs, I plan to find a way to display those precious old keepsakes, maybe by then I’ll have a couple things my sis and I have made to add to the display. I had a great time at the garden centers yesterday, it was the perfect activity to get myself into gardening mode. 🙂 Your pencil idea sounds silly, but I can see how maybe it could work. Although, as you well know Cher… I rarely have trouble smiling on my own. 😉 Have a wonderful weekend!

      Like

  3. You are so right about gratitude being the key! And I love that verse you shared!

    Like

    • Thanks Nancy, yes gratefulness really is the perfect antidote for whatever troubles the human soul. I love that verse too, and the ones preceding it. Anything pertaining to not being anxious always helps me. 🙂

      Like

  4. Those verses say it all. Like you, I’m sure if we allow those words to guide our life … well, a lot of other things just won’t add up to much. Happy spring!

    Like

    • Indeed, and the key is to really let them sink in. Troubles will come, but if we try to shift our focus onto all of the other good things in our lives, that truly will help us through the difficult times. It’s hard to do that sometimes though, so we have to practice at it. And I’m still learning. 😉 Happy spring to you too, Teresa! The little growing things in your potting shed look so wonderful!

      Like

  5. I love your thoughts, Julie! Thoughts really do set the scene for our emotions, but I wonder if we can always force ourselves to think a certain way. The way I see it, as we are totally in tune with our environment, thought is triggered by everything that goes on around us. Wherever we cast our eyes, whoever we listen to, whatever we taste or smell or touch triggers thought processes. Even the body mechanisms triggers a chain of thought without our being consciously aware of it. I did an experiment once, to see where my thoughts came from, and was surprised how when silent and still, profound lessons in the way of thoughts were ‘sent’ to me. The rest came from my surroundings. Maybe you are different to me. Perhaps some people ARE able to control their thought processes. The Advaita school of thought, and people like Byron Katie reckons our thoughts simply arise, and that they direct the course of our lives, like a river. Its an interesting subject, and I love your perspectives too. Thanks for a great read, Julie.

    Like

    • Thanks, Yaz! I totally agree with what you said is the way you see it “as we are totally in tune with our environment, thought is triggered by everything that goes on around us…” What we see, hear, smell and taste… oh yeah, I’m totally on the same page as you there! What we perceive through our five senses (which I am so deeply grateful for, by the way ;)) is how our minds process everything. I was telling my sis while we were out at the garden centers yesterday about where my thoughts went as I was trying to shift my focus to the good things. At first many were silly and simple, like how happy I am with the paint color I chose for my room, and how I love the lighting that comes in through my windows etc. I told her that were I sitting by the ocean or walking through a forest, the thoughts that would have come to me would have been completely different. So yes, definitely, our environment plays into it all. And gosh, I wish I could be sitting by the ocean or walking through a forest, as being in nature is what I really get off on, I can’t even express that enough. I also love what you said about the experiment you did and the profound lessons that came to you when you were silent and still. That is something I practice doing as well, but it’s really hard for me to completely empty my head hah! When I do though, and when I’m really listening to my deepest truth, it’s often things like that quote from the Bible that come to me ~ that was the perfect thing to help me in that moment and put me in a better state of mind. I still had to continue to work at it throughout the day though. I’m a bit embarrassed to share this, but off and on yesterday as the worry and dread tried creep back into my thoughts, do you know what I did? I snapped my fingers really loud right up next to my ear as a way to sort of snap me out of it. Oh gosh, I must have looked completely insane! Haha! But hey, it worked, so there you have it. Makes me wonder… maybe some of those “crazies” out there doing their strange things are onto something. 😉 Ah well, we’re all just on our own paths trying to figure stuff out, doing the best we can. Thanks so much for all your comments recently, Yaz. I sincerely enjoy interacting with you and hearing your perspectives on things. I hope today finds you in a good place. ♥

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

