Spring Rain

The morning’s weather so dreary and gray,

I’m finding it hard to keep the blues away.

The clouds feel heavy as does my heart,

gloomy thoughts pervade reluctant to part.

But in the distance I hear a robin’s bright song,

a cheerful reminder spring is coming along.

And this rain will rinse away the rest of the snow,

clearing the earth for beautiful things to grow.

© Julie Rehnelt 2013

~

DSCF0027a

DSCF0206a

DSCF0014a

These spring lovelies aren’t blooming outside here just yet,

but they’ll be coming along soon after all of this wet.

~

Yeah, once you get into rhyming mode, it’s kinda hard to get out.

😉

And here’s a little sample of “a robin’s bright song” that I was hearing earlier…

~

4 responses to “Spring Rain

  1. Nice pictures. I tried posting a few to facebook a minute ago and it won’t let me. I saw green grass where the snow has melted. It was so exciting. And the pictures I took are beautiful spring flowers like yours with snow behind them out the window. The house looks so SPRINGY! I’ve seen lots of birds coming in and chirping too. A sure sign of what’s to follow. You and your family have a wonderful Easter. And thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Thanks Cher! 🙂 I saw your photos, the tulip one was my favorite. I’m excited to have the bulbs in my little grow pot starting to bloom, still waiting for the tulips though. The lily photo is from a spring bouquet I picked up at Trader Joe’s the other day, I thought the white in contrast with the purple was so striking, and they smell amazing! Today ended up being lovely weather after all didn’t it?! Happy Easter to you too! 🙂

      Like

  2. Your photos are amazing…really enjoyable. I loved the YouTube video. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Charlie, I’m glad you enjoyed them! I really love the cheerful little melody the robin sings, but I think I mostly like it because of the feelings it evokes in me when I hear it. For me, it’s not only just the sense of hope of the spring season coming, but it also goes a bit deeper reminding me of various happy ‘seasons’ in my life too. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Charlie, it’s much appreciated.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

