Pendulum

My heart sways like a pendulum

endlessly swinging back and forth

conflicting emotions at either end

tick

tock

joy

sorrow

Time passes, things change

but also stay the same.

~

A battle constantly waging

thoughts continuously at war

tick

tock

hope

despair

Time passes, things change

but also stay the same.

~

So weary of this struggle

the pendulum’s unending swing

forever existing just outside of the threshold of relief

tick

tock

light

darkness

Time passes, things change

but also stay the same.

~

© Julie Rehnelt 2013

4 responses to “Pendulum

  1. I love this, Julie. You really know how to express what you’re feeling. I’ve been there, (sometimes still find myself there) so can feel it.

    Like

  2. I think you should re-blog this poem, Julie. It’s so skillfully composed… I love the emotive flow AND the juxtaposition.

    I absolutely love these lines:
    “Time passes, things change
    But also stay the same”

    That IS so true.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

