Magnificent Magnolias

While I was out and about running errands the other day, I noticed Magnolias blooming everywhere.  The funny thing is, I’ve lived in Minnesota my entire life and have been gardening for years, but I never realized that they even grew here, I’ve always associated Magnolias with the south for some reason.

Anyway, in seeing that they were in full glorious bloom, I pulled over on a whim and got out of the car to snap a few photos of them.  The weather was a bit drabby that day so the lighting wasn’t the best for taking pictures, but I still think they turned out fairly nice, and I enjoyed myself very much while taking them.  Such a lovely sight on a dreary day, and not only beautiful, but wonderfully fragrant as well!

Most of them that I saw were white, but I found this pretty pink variety while driving along a parkway…

DSCF0141a

DSCF0154a

DSCF0172a

So delicate and lovely!  ♥

  ~

And here are a couple of shots of some of the white ones that I saw.  The pink variety had no scent whatsoever that I could detect, but these white ones were unbelievably fragrant…

DSCF0071a

DSCF0106b

~

Much like other early springtime bloomers, I have a feeling that Magnolia’s blooming time may be very brief, so I’m really glad I happened to notice them along my busy day, and was able to enjoy some of their beauty while they were doing their thing.  ✿

Knowing now that they grow here, I may have to try and find a sunny spot in the yard to plant one.  Hmm… but pink or white?  Maybe both.  😉

Icon

~Gardening is my therapy~

10 responses to “Magnificent Magnolias

  1. mylivoniaranchhome

    Beautiful, something about the beauty of nature just makes a heart happy!

    Like

  2. They are beautiful! Thank you for sharing. Like you, I thought the same, that they were a tropical flower.

    Like

  3. I used to live in Singapore as a child and there was a glorious magnolia on the corner of our street that I used to pass every day on my way to school. I’d forgotten all about it until I saw your pretty photos!

    Like

  4. So, I really like your blog. I was recently nominated for the Liebster Award, and with that, I have to pass my nominations on to 11 other bloggers, you making the cut ;). You can out my post “Justin Liebster” here, http://hearthemusique.wordpress.com/2013/05/14/justin-liebster/ , to find out more on what it is I’m talking about!

    Like

  5. Magnolias are just stunning. As you say, though, they flower for such a short time. Really glad you saw and captured them. Someone close by has a huge one so I get to see its flash of beauty each year from my window but I don’t get to be close up. So your photos were wonderful, Julie Thanks so much! 🙂 xx

    Like

    • Yes, they really are stunning, I am seriously contemplating trying to find a place in the yard to plant one, but I’m not sure what (if any) landscaping I’m going to do with the side yard yet, and I don’t want to just plunk it in randomly. I also don’t know if I’d want the pink or white variety ~ I like the way the pink looks, but it’s the white variety that’s fragrant. Decisions, decisions. Oh well, I’m just happy to discover that they grow here. 🙂 I’m glad you have one near by to enjoy from your window. You’re welcome and thank you, I’m so glad you enjoyed the photos.x

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

