Things Rainy Days Are Good For…

Ordinarily I don’t get too upset over any particular type of weather, I like all kinds ~ be it snowstorms, thunderstorms (my favorite) or what have you.  It’s one of the reasons I like living in Minnesota ~ weather variety, and we certainly have that.  Sometimes we even get to experience all 4 seasons within the span of just one day.  Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a little bit, but you get my meaning.

Well, I’ve been finding myself getting a bit down about our weather lately.  First it was the extraordinarily long winter we had, and now it’s this seemingly unending rain.  Don’t get me wrong, I actually love the rain, I really do ~ the sound of it, the smell, how it makes everything so lush and green, but I need a sunny day or two here and there in between.  And that has been seriously lacking, the perpetual overcast sky gets depressing after a while.  It’s really something how the weather can affect ones’ mood and outlook on things.

I consistently strive to be content in any circumstances, even when it comes to the weather, and I think it’s helpful to try and focus on the positives of a situation, rather than the negatives.  Finding things to be thankful for and having a sense of gratitude every day is essential for me in living a joyful life.

But with this dreary weather… maybe it’s endurance that I lack, or perhaps it’s simply the monotony of it all that I’m finding so difficult, I don’t know, but ugh.

Anyway, in my customary ” try and look at the bright side of things” attitude, I’ve decided to make a list of some of the things that rainy days are good for, and I’m making you come along with me as I consider them.  😉

Rainy days are good for…

Napping

Nap_Time_510_by_ForsakenRain

Omygosh is there anything cuter than a pile of napping puppies?!  I love this picture I found on deviantART!  I wish I had this adorable pile of puppies!  ♥  Yesterday the dreary weather made me so tired, I couldn’t hold out any longer and went to lay down.  Once I gave in to it, I wondered why I was resisting, it felt so nice to climb into bed and snuggle underneath the covers on such a cold, dreary day.  I didn’t have any puppies to nap with, but my cats soon followed my lead and came to join me, it was quite a comfort.

~

Rainy days are good for…

Reading

reading_by_roy_ba-d5sbxpz

I saw a quote that said “Reading is like dreaming with your eyes open” and thought… yes, that it is!  I love reading, but often feel like I don’t have the time,  so rainy days are perfect for catching up on my reading.  If I don’t get too sleepy and end up taking a nap instead.  😉

~

Rainy days are good for…

Lighting candles

candlelight_by_danceinrain08-d2vxd0l

Lighting candles is one of my favorite things to do, no matter what the weather is.  The glow, the scent, the warmth, so cozy.

~

Rainy days are good for…

Watching a movie

393397_2664875616413_218514684_n

I snapped this with my cell phone one evening quite some time ago.  My daughter and I were watching Finding Nemo, when my cat Sugar went and sat on the arm of the couch to get a closer look.  So cute!  Rainy days are perfect for snuggling on the couch watching a movie.  With or without a cat.  😉

~

Rainy days are good for…

Cleaning, organizing and getting indoor projects done

dog-cleaning-floor-house-chores-funny-sad-broom-gloves

With remodeling my mom’s house, there is no shortage of indoor projects to do.  If only this dreary weather didn’t completely sap me of all energy and motivation.  😉   Although, I did repair our vacuum the other day (with my own two hands!)  *Patting myself on the back*  And I am doing laundry as I write this, if that counts…

~

Rainy days are good for…

Baking

af75bbe238c661a7f1b666647ecabc8a

S’mores cookies!  Mmm don’t these look freaking delicious?!  *Drools*  I’m gonna try and bake these one day.  (Click image to go the website I got this from)

~

Rainy days are good for…

Doing crafts

03e51f98795036f24e81e432b59cadff

I love doing bead work, and bracelets are one of my favorite things to make.  I’ve gotten away from it recently, but I definitely plan to get back to it at some point.  Maybe I’ll even make this bracelet, it is purple after all.  😉  (Click image to go to the website for the free tutorial on how to make this bracelet)

~

Rainy days are good for…

Writing

only_words____by_rinymph-d3457wv

Like writing a blog post.  😉

~

Rainy days are good for other things too, but these are the main ones I can think of at the moment.  I’ll have plenty of opportunity to discover more of them too, because the last time I checked the forecast, this drab, dreary weather is expected to continue through the weekend.  But the weather here is forever changing so maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised…

What do you like to do on rainy days?

10 responses to “Things Rainy Days Are Good For…

  1. I’m going to add some of these to my list for the next time we have a rainy day down here, Julie. Especially the cookies 🙂 Mmmm!

    Like

    • I know those S’mores cookies look amazing! But even as good as they look… it ended up being sunny out here today, so now it’s gardening instead of cookies for me! 🙂 Have a great weekend, Simon!

      Like

  2. These pictures are so lovely Julie! For me, reading and writing I think, on all days when I can and on rainy days too. Reading is my most favourite thing to do. I will send a little sun as we have some here at the moment. Your lovely plants need the rain – this is the upside!! 🙂 🙂 xx

    Like

    • Thanks Ruth, your sun arrived! It’s a gorgeous morning here today, and I’m having my coffee out on the patio at the moment. So much for the gloomy forecast for the weekend ey? 😉
      Much love and have a wonderful weekend, Ruth!x

      Like

  3. Wow – you’re timing was perfect! It was getting overcast all day and I had just given up on being productive. “Maybe I’ll go read for awhile instead,” I thought to myself, feeling kinda sleepy from the dreary weather we’ve had all week (care of Hurricane Andrea and others). Just then I saw your post in my inbox. Perfect! It perked me right up looking at the puppies, the cat watching Nemo (classic shot!) and of course, the cookie recipe.

    I think I’ll go light a candle and just enjoy a good book until this storm passes over. They always come to pass, they never come to stay. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Sandy, my sis has been in Florida this past week (I’ll be picking her up at the airport a bit later today as a matter of fact), and she has been telling me about Tropical Storm Andrea, she sure picked the wrong week for a Florida vacation! 😉 I haven’t heard from her yet how the weather there is today, but hopefully it has improved. You know, she told me I would love it there ~ flowers blooming everywhere! I remember you mentioning how bloom-a-rific it is down there. Fortunately, the forecast of rain, gloom and doom we were given for the weekend here is not the case ~ it’s lovely outside at the moment, so I’ll be out enjoying my flowers here too! I’m glad the timing of this post was perfect, I know… those puppies are way too cute! So glad they perked you up. ♥ Hope you enjoyed your rainy day with a good book. Stay safe!

      Like

  4. Oh gosh, the rain has been never ending here in Chicago too. We finally had a nice day today though! So I did some gardening outside. I actually enjoy watching the rain and/or lightning – and listening to the thunder. I’ll sometimes go outside after a storm and take some photos cause I love the raindrops on everything and the way wood looks after it’s been soaked with rain. Most rainy days I’ll stay in bed and watch some movies and drink tea or coffee.

    Like

    • Glad to hear you finally had a nice day of weather there in Chicago, and were able to get out and do some gardening. Interestingly, it has cleared up here too (despite what was originally forecast for this weekend), I’m outside on the patio having my coffee and plan to go putz in my garden here as well in just a bit. 😀
      I enjoy watching the rain and lightening too, and I love thunder! I know just what you mean about going outside afterwards, but of course, I just love being outside all the time anyway 😉
      Staying in bed watching movies sounds like a great thing to do on a rainy day.
      Have a nice weekend Gabby!

      Like

  5. mylivoniaranchhome

    Our Michigan weather has been kind of the same. I do love most weather too, although thunderstorms with lots of lightening is my favorite. I have to say that you sure make a rainy day sound cozy! Definitely a list to remember!!

    Like

    • Thunderstorms really are the best, aren’t they? Love them! 🙂 I sat outside in the rain today. The weather here still just can’t seem to make up its mind. I was working hard out in the yard today and sat down to take a break, when suddenly it just began raining (from a predominantly blue sky!) I was tired and didn’t feel like getting up off my chair and going inside, so I just there in the rain, it was quite refreshing actually. Add to the list ~ Things rainy days are good for… a refreshing shower after working hard in the garden. 😀

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

