My Saturday Morning Self Pep Talk

I love being up early in the morning hours, before the rest of the world awakes, quietly sipping my coffee, listening to the birds.  My best inspiration comes to me then, before I’m fully awake, while sleepy dreams still linger in the back of my mind, while I’m still feeling the aftereffects of the cozy comforts of my bed.

But sometimes as the day creeps in, it brings with it the worries and cares of this life, and those peaceful morning moments slowly disintegrate.

I’m faced with a choice then.

I can’t control my circumstances, but I can try to control my attitude toward them.  Some are very painful and distressing, and a battle of the mind wages a war within me.  Sometimes it’s hard and I want to give in… give up… just let the waves of despair pull me under.  And sometimes I do…

But most times, I don’t.

And today… I won’t.

Because despite the difficulties of my circumstances, there are far too many other beautiful things in my life to focus on, and I won’t let the negative ones steal the Joy and the Light from me.  Not today.

~

DSCF0153b

~

And don’t you either…

9 responses to “My Saturday Morning Self Pep Talk

  1. Ah. I like this. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  2. I am sitting at my desk sipping herbal tea and enjoying the cool, soft, morning breeze that is coming in through the screened window…truly enjoyable.

    Like

    • That sounds lovely. There’s a wonderful, cool breeze coming in through my windows this morning as well, and I smell coffee brewing downstairs, so I’m going to grab a cup and head out to the patio with my journal in hand to enjoy the morning. Thanks so much for stopping by, hope you have a great day, Charlie!

      Like

  3. Always good to look for the beauty Julie, however difficult. Love to you xx

    Like

  4. What a sweet little violet you are – I love to read about people who make use of early mornings – I always felt they were wasted on me.
    David

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

