Inspiration From a Sunflower

Basking in the warmth and the light of the sun

face turned upward with arms lifted high

reaching and also surrendering

waiting to bloom, longing to become…

© Julie Rehnelt 2013

DSCF0280a

~

I’m feeling a bit of inspiration from my sunflowers today.  😀  Earlier this spring when old man winter was just refusing to release us from its snowy grip, a friend of mine from Alabama sent me a little gardening care package to help raise my spirits.  One of the things in it was a packet of seeds for some giant sunflowers, and once spring finally arrived I planted a few of them behind the privacy fence panel next to the patio.

I’ve really been enjoying watching them grow, and they get taller every day.   Just yesterday I noticed that one of them is now easily clearing the top of the 6ft fence and a couple of them have nice big buds forming on them, so I went to take some photographs.  Which wasn’t an easy feat for me in being rather short, but I managed alright and think I got some nice shots.

Here are a couple others…

DSCF0209a

DSCF0231a

~

I absolutely adore sunflowers, while in bloom they are one of the most bright, cheerful flowers!  ♥  And I also love the fact that you can eat their seeds!  😀

One of the other things I love about sunflowers too is that their heads are always facing the direction of the sun.  As the sun crosses the sky and morning turns to evening, they turn in unison along with it.  The first photo after my poem was taken around high noon where as these last couple were in the morning.  You can clearly see that the head is tilted in the morning shots versus facing straight up at noon when the sun was directly above.  I know all flowers and plants do this, but it’s such an obvious shift of position with sunflowers, and I just think it’s neat.

~

Maybe we’d all grow better if we kept our faces looking upward and directed toward the sun…

Me and my metaphors…

13 responses to “Inspiration From a Sunflower

  1. Lovely metaphor, poem, and pictures!

    Like

  2. I love the poem Julie, and the photos are beautiful as usual! I also love sunflowers and sunflower seeds. I don’t get to see them often, but I get to eat the seeds, thankfully!

    Like

    • Thanks Yaz! Sunflowers really are such a delight, I can’t wait until they bloom! I’ll have to wait and see if I’ll be able to harvest the seeds though, I may just leave them for the birdies. 😀

      Like

  3. lets keep our hearts and minds turned to the sun, the light, as this flower does. lovely post! and thank you for your visit…

    Like

  4. Oh Julie, I love Sunflowers too, can’t wait to see them!!! 🙂 🙂

    Like

  5. I love the poem Jewels and the pictures are beautiful…x

    Like

  6. I love sunflowers…they are amazing to watch grow. You may need a ladder for your next photos. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

