To Everything There is a Season

100_4569d

~

I got my first real glimpse of fall color the other day when I followed behind my sis on her motorcycle so she could bring it up north to her cabin to store it there for the winter.

It’s starting to get dark out earlier in the evenings now, and by the time we got to her cabin the sun was already set, but I still pulled out my camera anyway and tried to take a few photos before all the light was gone.  None of the shots I took turned out very well, but when I saw the one above it evoked an emotion from me, so I touched it up as best I could and then added that quote to it.

While I was working on it I couldn’t help myself from hearing this old song by The Byrds playing over and over in my head…

I want to say this song is a bit “before my time” but I believe it was actually released the year I was born, so technically it isn’t.  😉

~

I knew those lyrics were taken from a portion of scripture, so I decided to go and look them up in the Bible to add to the context.  I think I got through chapter 5 or 6 of Ecclesiastes before I had to put it down, I just found it all so depressing.  I lost count of how many times the writer said “all is vanity and striving after the wind!”  I’ve already been feeling a bit like that myself, so reading that wasn’t helping me at all.  I do really like the part that this song is taken from though, and I know there’s a good moral of the story and a point made in the end.  I’m sure that all of the philosophers and theologians throughout the ages have their own opinions and have made their arguments over what the interpretation of that portion of scripture is about, but all I really care about is how it all relates to me and how I can apply it to my every day life.

Which lately… the “season” I’ve been in has me feeling rather low.  It’s weird too, because this is my favorite time of the year.  I mean, I can hardly even describe how much I love autumn.  Truly.  Ordinarily I should be on top of the world right now.  I’m sure it’s probably just that there’s sooo much going on in my life at the moment that I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed.  Anyway, I’m not going to get into all of that, it’s just that in contemplating all of this it has got me thinking…

Thinking, thinking, thinking.  Turn, turn, turn…

About all of the different seasons there are in life.  A time for this, a time for that.  Me and my endless metaphors.  But it’s so true!   And the thing that helps me is to remember… that no mater what “time” it is right now… it has its purpose in my life, and it’s only for a season.  What a great encouragement!  And as my pops used to say…  “This too shall pass.”  ♥

“There is an appointed time for everything.  And there is a time for every event under heaven –

A time to give birth, and a time to die;

a time to plant, and a time to uproot what is planted. 

A time to kill, and a time to heal;

a time to tear down, and a time to build up. 

A time to weep, and a time to laugh;

a time to mourn, and a time to dance.

A time to throw stones, and a time to gather stones;

a time to embrace, and a time to shun embracing.

A time to search, and a time to give up as lost;

a time to keep, and a time to throw away.

A time to tear apart, and a time to sew together;

a time to be silent, and a time to speak.

A time to love, and a time to hate;

a time for war, and a time for peace.”

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

~

And a time to follow your sis up north to store her motorcycle…

!cid_Image092320131823081a

~

6 responses to “To Everything There is a Season

  1. Keep your chin up Julie! Everything that happens has a message for you. Try to be open to them (a bit hard I know, when all the emotions are running riot). This is a lovely post and I just love the red leaves!

    Like

    • Thanks so much Yaz, keeping my chin up here! 🙂 I completely agree with you saying that everything that happens has a message for us, and I’m definitely trying to be open to them, even amidst the emotional turmoil. Glad you like the red leaf photo, maple leaves in autumn really are so very lovely! Hopefully I’ll have more opportunities as the season progresses to get out there and capture more of nature’s autumn beauty. Hope all is well with you, Yaz. Peace and love to you! ♥

      Like

  2. Big hug!!! Hope you had fun with your sister and try to enjoy the loveliness of this wonderful season as best you can. 😀 PS, thanks for sharing this passage. I love that it reminds us of the rhythms that we are a part of and that it’s OK for things to be uneven, difficult or fleeting. We are in this ol’ river together, swimming as best we can. Take care!!!

    Like

    • Thanks so much Lori, big hugs right back atcha! 🙂 It was a very nice drive up north, and it’s only going to get prettier, I definitely plan to try and absorb as much beauty as I can from this lovely season as it progresses. Glad you enjoyed the passage, it’s a good one. Your swimming reference reminds me of a favorite clip from Finding Nemo, and that’s a good reminder too! 😉

      Like

  3. Julie, I love what you did to the leaf photo! Your closing picture and comment made me smile. It is the cold season in our house right now – sore throat. Good time to blog since it’s restful… I hope the new week brings you and our house some new vigor. 🙂

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

    • Thanks so much Wendy! I’m glad they made you smile. 🙂 Sorry to hear the cold season has hit at your house, I hope y’all get to feeling better right quick over there! Well wishes & blessings to you!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

