Frosty Autumn Morning

 

One frosty autumn morning, leaves spent and scattered upon the ground

all the earth is quiet, lightly powdered with a wintry white dust.

I walk barefoot upon the icy blades of grass, feeling it crunch beneath my feet

frigid air fills my lungs, invigorating me; exhaling I see my breath.

As nature descends into its winter sleep, my senses ascend, and I awake.

 © Julie Rehnelt 2013

100_5042a

100_5052a

100_5038a

DSCF0042a

~

Then I shiver and go inside to get myself a hot cuppa.  😀

Peace & love…

12 responses to “Frosty Autumn Morning

  1. Beautiful words and exquisite images – we’ve yet to experience any frost this autumn but I fear it’s not too far away…and it may make a refreshing change to rain, rain, and more rain!

    Like

    • Thanks so much, I really appreciate that! 🙂 These images are from our first hard frost that we had here yesterday morning. Then last night it snowed! I’m not quite ready for winter, as there is still quite a bit of lovely autumn color here to enjoy, it’s a sunny morning so hopefully the snow will melt. It can come back again though for Thanksgiving and Christmas to make things festive. 😉 Hope all the rain over there lets up soon. Thanks for stopping by and for your comment, have a wonderful day! 🙂

      Like

  2. Those are LOVELY photos! I like the last one especially!
    Barefoot. Grounded. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Joey! 🙂 Haha yep barefoot! Still experimenting with that whole “grounded” idea. It’s getting pretty nippy out there now (snow on the ground today), so I don’t know how much longer I’ll be able to prevail, having fun with it though!

      Like

  3. Beautiful pictures! That frost on those Fall leaves is simply gorgeous!

    Like

  4. Just beautiful Julie how you’ve captured the frost. Love your words too. Hope that you have a good weekend and are getting warmed up indoors for winter!! xx

    Like

    • Thanks Ruth! Hope you have a good weekend too, and that you’re keeping cozy there yourself, it’s got to be getting pretty chilly there now as well. Stay warm my friend, and much love to you.x

      Like

  5. These are lovely, Jewels. Last year my daughter pointed out some to me early one morning…

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  6. Such gorgeous photos! Thank you for sharing them, and thanks for following my blog.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

