Time to Hunker Down

The word on the street is that overnight tonight and tomorrow morning we are expected to have freezing temps such as we have not seen in 18 years.  I read this morning that the wind chill could dip down to as much as 50-65 below zero.  Yikes!

We talk a lot about the weather here in Minnesota, it’s a bit of a joke really, but this truly is noteworthy weather we’re having, and if I’m being honest it’s got me feeling a bit alarmed.  Hopefully we don’t lose power or we’ll be completely screwed,  I can’t even imagine what we would do if that happened.

But there’s no sense in living life in fear of all of the “what ifs.”  So instead… I’ll do what I can to be safe, choose to hope for the best, and try to look at the bright side of things.  Such as…

With this cold weather comes having lovely frost formations on my windows to admire.  I snapped this earlier this morning before the sun came up, it reminds me of a feather.  😀

DSCF1276a

~

Having cuddly moments snuggling with my sweet kitty.  ♥

DSCF0006a

~

And spending time writing in this delicious red leather journal I got from a friend for Christmas that he picked up for me while on vacation in Florence.

DSCF1175a

~

Not not to mention being cozy and burning candles, reading, and baking.  In fact, I’m planning to go into the kitchen and start mixing up the ingredients for some banana bread right after posting this.   I also plan to do some organizing around the house, and that always feels good.  See, having to hunker down indoors against the freezing temps can have its bright side.  I’m just thankful I don’t have to go anywhere.  Well… except to go outside and start up my car on the hour every hour to make sure the battery doesn’t die.  😉

Hope it’s warm where you are!

Peace & Love…

32 responses to “Time to Hunker Down

  1. Brrrrrrr!!!!!! And I like the cold!

    Like

  2. Ooh, stay warm Julie! That’s some serious cold weather you’ve got over there! Sounds like a good strategy for tackling it – baking, writing and being with your kitty 🙂

    Like

    • I will do my best to stay warm! Baking, check. Being with my kitty, check, check. As for the writing… well we’ll have to see about that, with all of this coziness I’m sort of feeling drawn to my bed for a nap. 😉

      Like

  3. We talk about the weather quite a bit here as well. While we’ve gotten 0 degree weather a few time (already) it’s usually in the teens. Don’t know if I could do Minnesota type weather. Yikes. Hope all goes well. (dreaming of palm trees)!! 🙂
    best,
    maureen

    Like

    • We do get quite a variety of weather here, one saying we have is “If you don’t like the weather we’re having, just wait 5 minutes and it will change.” We’ve also been known to experience all four seasons within the span of just one day, and that’s only exaggerating a little. 😉 Ah yes, palm trees… and don’t forget the tasty cocktails with the little umbrellas in them…

      Like

  4. That photo is stunning and your kitty looks all warm and contented,sometimes it’s nice to batten down the hatches and stay indoors.

    Like

    • Thanks so much, it’s fun to see the different designs the frost sprinkles on my windows, and it seems most magical in the mornings before the sun comes up. That photo of my kitty is from a while ago, today she’s just been curled up on my office chair and I’ve had to look elsewhere for a place to sit. Haha spoiled cat, I love her to pieces! 🙂

      Like

  5. Baking sounds like a delicious anti-cold strategy!!! PS, thanks for the reminder about car batteries. 🙂

    Like

    • Ah and it smells so good in the house! Oh, yes we mustn’t forget to go out and start the car up every once in a while during this cold weather or we may find ourselves with a dead battery when we do need to go somewhere. I went out once already and it turned over ever so sluggishly. I’m thankful for a dependable car that starts up even in such freezing temps. The worst of the cold hasn’t come yet though, hopefully it continues to start up…

      Like

  6. Omg!!! Stay safe and warm!! I am in NZ at the moment and it’s summer so I’m finding it hard to imagine. X

    Like

  7. Brrrr…Hope this cold weather snap doesn’t last all winter. Love the ice formation on your window and your beautiful journal even more. Nice gift! Stay safe and warm!

    Like

    • Oh gosh me too, hopefully it’s only a brief cold snap. Thanks, I really am enjoying all of the lovely frost patterns I’ve been seeing this winter, and oh yes, my beautiful journal… it’s made out of the softest leather, it’s just absolutely yummy. It really was such a thoughtful gift! You stay safe and warm too up in your own frozen tundra there!

      Like

  8. Love it. Stay warm Jewels. And as I said once before, I LOVE the ice formations and your stunning photo’s of them. I agree. It looks like a feather. Perhaps from an angels wing????
    Keep Inspiring

    John

    Like

    • Thanks John! I’m keeping toasty warm here so far this morning. I awoke to yet even more beautiful frost patterns on my window and have been busy trying to photograph them. On one of the windows I can barely see out through the frost and the sun is shining so bright, it’s exquisite! No “angel’s wings” feathers this time though. 😉

      Like

  9. I can’t even imagine how temps like that must feel. Upper 20’s is what passes for cold around here. Stay warm! I do hope your heat stays on.

    Like

    • It’s invigorating, but deathly at the same time ~ like all the life is literally being sucked right out of you. 😉 Yes, the heat stayed on, thankfully, so I’ve been keeping warm. Hope all is well with you Trisha!

      Like

  10. I love your thinking…we can’t do anything about the weather but we can make the most of each day. I love the frost patterns on my windows as well and took photos of them too. 🙂

    Like

  11. Those feathery frost formations are beautiful! Stay warm and cozy up there! 🙂

    Like

  12. Daytime temps were 91 degrees warmer here on the 6th, and that’s not factoring in the windchill factor. Hope you’re keeping warm.

    Like

    • Wow… 91 degrees warmer? Nice! Yep, I’ve been keeping warm here. Latest word on the street now is temps forecast to be in the 30’s for this weekend, silly extreme weather gotta love it! 😀

      Like

  13. Your frosty photos are so beautiful! Greetings from Duluth 🙂 Annie

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Annie! Oooh Duluth is my most favorite place! ♥ I love spending time up there! Well… in the summer I do. 😉 Thanks for stopping by and for the follow, I really appreciate it! I’ll have to be sure to stop over and have a peek at your blog too. Stay warm!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

