You and Me

It’s my baby girl’s birthday tomorrow and I’ve got all things Rachael on my mind.  I’ve spent the last several days reminiscing over the past 22 years and my mind is filled with so many precious memories of my daughter and I together.

Yesterday after a bit of searching through old boxes of mementos, I found the journal I kept while I was pregnant that also went through her first year.  I spent some time reading over it and I laughed and I cried, my heart was overwhelmed with love, and with joy, and with gratitude.  I’m so glad I kept a journal of it all.

It’s hard to describe the profound love I have for her, sometimes words just aren’t enough.  Fewer things are more precious to me in this world than my daughter, and it is in being her Mom that my life has found the most meaning so far.

One of the memories that is foremost on my mind today (the one that prompted this post’s title) is of the two of us dancing together at a family wedding several years ago to the song “You and Me” by Lifehouse.  I loved that song at the time and when it began playing I asked my (now ex) husband to dance to it with me, but he refused (there is a long and hurtful story behind the reason for that that I won’t go into right now), so I turned to my daughter and asked her.  Something you should know is that my daughter was (is) extremely shy so it was a pretty big deal for her to get out there and dance with me.  But in knowing how much I loved the song (and I think in also seeing and wanting to alleviate my hurt at being rejected by her dad) , she put away her insecurities and danced with me.  We twirled around happily together on the the dance floor, albeit awkwardly, and had a wonderful time. We hadn’t danced like that together since she was a little girl.  It really meant a lot to me.

On a Mother’s Day sometime afterward, she put together a cover of herself singing that song and gave it to me as a gift.  She later posted it on her YouTube channel and this is it…

It’s not one of her best vocals, but I can’t even tell you how precious the sweet sound of my baby girl’s singing is to me.

♥~♥~♥

Thanks so much for letting me share this treasured memory with you.  Since beginning my blog back in November of 2011, I’ve not only mentioned her numerous times in various posts along the way, but have also written specific posts about my daughter.  In the spirit of her birthday I’d like to mention those again… When she turned 20, I wrote a post about her called Beautiful Things Come in Twenties where I shared a ton of photos along with twenty of the things I love about her, and then another one Minnesota’s Got Talent where I shared (bragged) about her creativity and artistic talent.

Well, there’s lots to do to get ready for the special day tomorrow, and I’m off to bake her birthday cake.  She wants a tie dye one (truly a girl after my own heart), but I’ve never made a tie dye cake before, so hopefully it doesn’t end up a complete fail. Wish me luck!

You and Me

Peace & Love…

27 responses to “You and Me

  1. what a beautiful post to read this morning. Made me miss my mum!

    Like

  2. She is quite talented. I can tell you are so proud of her. Tell her Happy Birthday. Our youngest son that is a U.S. Marine was 22 this past September..

    Like

    • Thanks Sonya I think so too 😉 and I am really proud of her! You must be so proud of your son as well, serving in the Marines. Sending well wishes for his safety…

      Like

  3. Lovely post. Love Lighthouse. Her cover is really beautiful. Happy Birthday, Rachael! xx

    Like

  4. Sounds like you and your daughter have a very special, sweet, loving relationship. Congratulations, Mom, on raising an amazing human being! Happy Birthday to Rachael and Happy Rachael’s Birthday to you!
    Peace and love,
    Jan

    Like

    • We do Jan, and I’m so very grateful for it. ♥ Thanks so much, I think she’s a pretty amazing human if I do say so myself! 😉 Thank you for your kind, thoughtful wishes to both of us!

      Like

  5. What a beautiful post and two very beautiful ladies in the photos. Happy birthday to your daughter. Have a wonderful celebration!

    Like

  6. Happy birthday to Rachael, and I hope you two are having an awesome day together. She is lucky to have you as her mom 🙂

    Like

  7. You two are beautiful. What a lovely mother you are to your daughter.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  8. I hope your daughter had a wonderful birthday. It is so nice to read a post with this much love between a mother and daughter.
    She has such a beautiful voice.

    Like

    • She did, thanks so much! I’ll be sure to let her know you said she has a beautiful voice, for some reason she doesn’t just take my word for it when I tell her that ~ she must think I’m biased or something, can’t imagine why… 😉

      Like

  9. what an absolutely tribute not just to your daughter but to the wonderful bond you both have. Beautiful voice, too! I hope she had a wonderful birthday and that the tie-dyed cake turned out well. Happy Birthday, Rachael!

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Loisajay! Oh yes, the cake, thank you, it turned out really fun looking! More of a rainbow than tie dyed, but very colorful and festive, and she loved it! 😀

      Like

  10. Hope you had a wonderful day. What a really lovely post – feel privileged to share it. Many, many happy returns Rachael.

    Like

    • Thanks so much, we all had a very nice day ~ including a few extra special moments that will go down in the history books for our family as being some of the most memorable for many years to come. ♥

      Like

  11. Can I put this up at my Listening To…page?

    Like

  12. This is such a beautiful post Julie. 🙂 I also heard some more of Rachael’s songs on YouTube – including original material – she is very talented. I hope she intends to pursue it more. Much love to you, Julie, from a wet and windy UK. xxxx

    Like

    • Hi Ruth 🙂 Thanks so much, I always get a bit nostalgic around Rachael’s birthday, but was even more so this year. I think she is very talented too, but of course I’m her mom so I may be just a smidgen biased. 😉 I wish she was planning to pursue her music more, but she hasn’t really done much with it for the past couple of years. I hint to her from time to time how I miss hearing it, but she says she just isn’t in that mode right now. In fact, her keyboard is stored away. 😦 Hopefully she will pick it back up before too long. Wet and windy over there is it? It’s -13 below here at the moment {{{brrr}}}! Ah winter… gotta love it! I am heading out into this freezing cold today to go to a lovely indoor garden conservatory that’s nearby to be amongst the growing things ~ a perfect way to combat the cold weather! 🙂 Much, much love to you too Ruth, hope you and yours are doing alright, be well my friend. xx

      Like

  13. Thank you, Jewels. What a privilege it is to carry another human being as part of yourself for nine months and to be allowed to love them for the rest of our lives.
    It makes my eyes water that my own Mom is not here so I could show her the love that wells up in my heart for her sacrificial love each time I think of her.

    Like

    • It indeed is a privilege and a blessing. So sorry to hear your mom is no longer here, my heart sincerely goes out to you. ♥ And thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings about this with me…

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

