Spring Fever Therapy

With temperatures on the rise here recently, it definitely feels like spring is getting closer now, but a few weeks ago when it was still quite cold out, my daughter and I paid a visit to the Como Park Conservatory.  It was so very wonderful to be among all of the fragrant, lovely, growing things ~ the perfect therapy for spring fever.  It’s only a 15 minute drive from my home, and it’s free admission, so that’s a bonus!

Unfortunately, I only managed to snap a few photos before my camera battery died.  I really need to be paying more attention to things like that.  Oops!  But you know… as much as I enjoy taking photographs, sometimes it’s more important to just be in the moment and not trying to do anything else other than simply enjoying the experience.  And that I most certainly did.  😀

Here are a few photos from our visit…

It may be winter outside…

DSCF2426a

But there’s bright, beautiful blooms inside…

DSCF2482a

DSCF2487b

DSCF2448b

DSCF2478b

DSCF2444b

And this adorable little sculpture/fountain…

DSCF2468b

It was around this point that I started getting the low battery warning on my camera and I panicked because we still had many more areas to explore, so I turned my camera off.  But here are a couple my daughter snapped with her camera of the Cyclamen and Narcissus…

DSCN0202a

DSCN0234a

I can’t even tell you how gloriously fragrant it was in there, so unbelievably refreshing.  *Sigh*  Their Sunken Garden exhibit changes seasonally, with their Spring Flower Show beginning next week, so you know I’ll be making another trip there soon to check that out.  And I’ll be sure to also check that my camera batteries are all charged up.  😉

~

Next we went to have a look at the Conservatory’s Bonsai Collection, where I still had enough juice left in my camera battery to snap a shot of this Bonsai specimen…

DSCF2492b

I would love to try my hand at caring for a Bonsai someday, and I think it would be an especially therapeutic activity to do during the long winters here.

~

Additionally, Como Park has a stunning Japanese Garden, but that area is outdoors so it’s currently buried under the winter snow.  It’s really quite impressive though, here is a video about it…

It would be really cool to go to their Japanese lantern lighting festival, as well as attend one of their tea ceremonies sometime.

~

We also went inside the park’s Tropical Encounters exhibit, where I used the very last of my camera battery to snap this photo of a little yellow bird as it landed briefly to catch a snack…

DSCF2499b

No idea what kind of bird it is, but its bright yellow color is so cheery!

And speaking of birds… I have been increasingly hearing the sweet chirping and tweets of various birds outside my window in the mornings (right now, in fact) and it’s such a welcome sound!

~

Lastly, I’ll share a couple of the other photos my daughter snapped with her camera while we were there…

In the Fern Room

DSCN0290a

It was all misty in there, so lush and green and alive.  I don’t have a lot of houseplants, because although I may have a green thumb outside in the garden, I tend to kill indoor plants.  But I think next winter I will look into getting myself some sort of fern to grow indoors to tend to ~ something about them reminds me of oxygen and I quite like breathing in fresh air, it’s especially appreciated when being cooped up indoors all winter.

And the Palm Dome

DSCN0283a

You can’t tell it from the photo, but this palm is huge.  If you scroll back up and look at the first photo I took of the outside of the conservatory, this palm is as tall as the top part of that dome.   Magnificent!

~

And I’ll leave you with this sneaky shot I took of my daughter with her camera (without her knowing it) while she admired the Koi Pond in the North Garden

DSCN0275a

Her pose here reminds me so much of when she was a little girl.  ♥

~

And I’ve been bringing her to Como ever since she was a little girl.  It really is a wonderful place ~ for spring fever, or whatever the weather…

~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

22 responses to “Spring Fever Therapy

  1. I’m totally jealous that admission is free. Our botanical gardens are magnificent, at a magnificent price. Ouch! I’m hopeful my mother come up this summer, so Moo and I can take her. Best enjoyed with other nature geeks, fersure!
    LOVE the fern room. LOVE ferns. I had an enormous one I grew for …3 years, and then placed him under the eaves when we bought our second house. He was kinda my baby, I wonder if the “new” owners love him?
    It definitely feels like Spring here today 🙂

    Like

    • I know, it’s crazy that it’s free admission, they must have some very generous, gracious donors that keep it able to remain free to the public! I always leave a donation when I go, but it’s a modest amount, as my bank account usually dictates. I have to laugh at you saying “nature geeks” I am one to the core! 😀 Why didn’t you take your fern baby with you when you moved? I’ve often dug up various perennials and taken them with me when I’ve moved from house to house over the years. This last time I couldn’t, and it felt like I left a piece of my heart behind. 😦 Oh gosh I know, the weather here today was A-mazing!

      Like

  2. Wow, what beautiful flowers and greenery, how lovely to be able to visit something like that amidst all that white! Lovely pics and look forward to your next visit 🙂

    Like

  3. Gorgeous captures of a very beautiful place! Thanks so much for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  4. Wow! What a beautiful place! I enjoyed seeing it, even just through the pictures. I can only imagine how nice it felt and smelled in there!

    Like

    • It is such a beautiful place! I’m so glad you enjoyed the pictures, Trisha, wish I’d had more of them to share. Next time I’ll make sure my camera batteries are charged. 😀

      Like

  5. You definitely found beauty and captured it so well. #thinkspring

    Like

  6. Wow what a beautiful place to visit… and what beautiful photos you managed to capture before the battery died…

    Like

  7. These are just stunning Julie! I’m so glad that you had enough battery to capture these shots. What a wonderful place to visit and thanks so much for sharing it with me. Much love xxxx

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Ruth! It really is so lovely there, I’m very thankful to have it be so nearby, and free! Rachael and I were just talking yesterday that we really should go there more often, like once a week. They have a zoo there as well, and animals are her passion. There are many volunteer opportunities that I think would be so great for her there as well. I’d like to bring my journal with me as well as my camera (with full batteries) and spend more time just sitting and soaking up the beautiful life giving atmosphere. I’m so glad you enjoyed this, much love to you Ruth! ♥ xx

      Like

    • So helpful, thanks a lot Peter! I have allergies and asthma and am always excited to hear of ways to improve indoor air quality. I’ve just been so bad at taking care of houseplants over the years, I’m not sure why that is, I think I get neglectful of them during the regular (outdoor) gardening season, along with getting caught up in the general busyness of life, but I do think it’s time I seriously consider changing all of that and looking into growing more indoor plants. Definitely going to check out this link… 😀

      Like

  8. I love that place at this time of year. Thank you for the reminder.

    Like

  9. Pingback: Plants to Tide Me Over | Ramblings From Jewels

I'd love to hear from you!

