Blood Moon

There was a lunar eclipse last night.  Or this morning to be more precise, and it was amazing!  I set my alarm clock for 2 a.m. but woke up on my own at around 1:45.  I was disappointed at first, to wake up and find cloudy skies when the weather forecast had called for clear skies, but after about 30 minutes the clouds drifted away and I was able to see the Blood Moon.

I woke up my daughter and my mom and they got up to have a peek at it too.  They thought it was cool, but shortly afterward returned to their beds.  I think it was only a big deal to me.  If you’ve been here with me for a while, you know that I sort have a thing for the moon.  I love the moon.  And the moon loves me.  And I wasn’t going to miss seeing it be all fancy-like and showing off, so I stayed up to watch it by myself.

Well, I wasn’t completely alone, my cat Sugar was up with me, rubbing her sweet little head against me and purring.  But I’m pretty sure that was only because she wanted food, she didn’t have the slightest clue or care one bit that there was a super cool eclipse happening.  My other cat Baby, slept through all of the excitement without a care in the world; never leaving my bed, and staying snuggled underneath the covers.  You would think animals would show a bit more of an interest when special things in nature are going on, you know…  with their primal instincts and all.  Not my animals apparently.

Oh!  But speaking of primal… I swear I heard the sound of drums beating while I was watching the eclipse.  Really, I’m not kidding!  Thinking it was coming from outside, I even opened the window to get a better listen, but I couldn’t tell where the sound was coming from.  I’m not in the habit of hearing things that aren’t really there, so I was definitely hearing something, but I have no idea what the heck it was.  So weird.  It was kinda cool though and it made the mood of the experience more interesting.

After a while I decided to go grab my phone and text a friend of mine who I was talking to earlier about the eclipse to see if she was up watching it.  She was.  And she was out taking pictures of it.

I’ve mentioned a few times in the past how (much to my disappointment) my humble little camera isn’t able to capture photographs of the moon, but my friend’s camera can, and look at this great photo she captured during the eclipse of the Blood Moon…  It looks rosy pink!!!

Taxmoon

I love it, so cool!

(If you click on the photo it will bring you to her Flickr photostream where she has some of her other lovely nature photography posted.)

~

I never did go back to sleep, and I’m very tired, a nap will definitely be in order today, but it was totally worth it.  The wonders of the universe delight and amaze me!  ❤

How about you?  Did you see it where you are?

~

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

30 responses to “Blood Moon

  1. Thank you so much for the picture,Julie. Down here in sunny FL, it has been pouring rain since last night. No blood moon for us! Oh, that drumming you heard…..I sent thunder your way. You know….for sound effects. 🙂

    Like

    • Isn’t that a beautiful shot she captured? It really was a very cool thing to see, made me wish I still had my telescope. Sorry you weren’t able to see it there.
      Haha thanks for the thunder! 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m so jealous, I was up at the right time but there was so much cloud cover I couldn’t see a thing…. she got a great picture 🙂

    Like

    • Sorry you weren’t able to see it Kenneth, it was really cool to see. The clouds were here too, but thankfully cleared up, I’m so glad I waited that 30 minutes and didn’t go back to bed or I would have missed it.
      I’m jealous too… of my friend’s camera. 😉

      Like

  3. lovely…thank you for sharing!

    Like

  4. I love the moon too. Never seen it quite that red.

    Like

    • I’ve never seen it like that either. In fact, I didn’t see the rosy color like it shows in my friend’s photo, I saw more of a rusty shade of red. It sure was lovely though, and I’m so thankful to have witnessed it. Mars was equally stunning, shining a rusty tint too at about the 2:00 position. 🙂

      Like

  5. Julie, I’m so glad you got to see this! I thought about getting up at 2am but was just too tired, and I knew if anyone would be awake and looking at the skies for the blood moon it would be you 🙂 You captured it beautifully!

    Like

  6. Whoops, I just realized it was Sharon’s photo and not yours. That’s what I get for clicking on pretty pictures before reading the whole post. btw, I do think the moon loves you. I don’t know how she couldn’t 😉 The next time I get up at 2am to observe astronomical phenomena, I’m going to be listening for drums…

    Like

    • Haha yeah, pay attention will ya? 😉 Sharon is 2 for 2 with those great shots she has taken of the moon. I really wish I had a fancier camera.
      Indeed, and I am the moon’s favorite! 😀
      Omygosh, yeah that drum sound was so bizarre! Seriously, I wonder what the heck that was…?

      Like

  7. I was going to get up to see it but….then I didn’t. I wish I would have though, but with 5 AM workouts, getting up at 2 AM is hard.

    Like

    • With a 5 a.m. workout I can’t blame you for not wanting to get up, the only workout I have in the morning is raising my coffee cup up to my mouth. 😉
      It really was a cool thing to see though!

      Like

  8. What a great shot! 😀

    I had my alarm set to go off at 2:44am. Since I have such a hard time sleeping in the first place, I just turned the alarm off and went back to sleep. We had cloudy skies here in Chicago too (heck, it snowed yesterday/last night!) so I’m not sure if I would’ve been able to see it or not. For most night events I want to see, I never do because our skies are usually cloudy.

    Like

    • Those darn clouds can be pesky things sometimes, I’m so glad they cleared up here so I could watch the eclipse. My thing is now that I’m living back in the inner city I don’t have as much sky to look at, and the stars in the night sky don’t shine as bright when having to compete with the city lights. Times like these I really miss living out in the country.
      Wow you guys got snow there yesterday?! It was pretty nippy outside here too yesterday, and I heard there is a slight chance of snow in the forecast with the rain that is expected later this week. I hope the forecast is wrong, just as it was last night about the clear skies. 😉

      Like

  9. Wow, how amazing! I wanted to see the Blood Moon so badly but we had clouds roll in yesterday evening. I took a peek at the sky before going to bed and it looked completely cloudy to I just went to bed. Now that I’ve seen this awesome photo, I wish I had stayed up just on the off chance that the clouds parted enough to see the moon like this. It’s beautiful! I’m glad it made an appearance for you. 🙂

    Like

    • It was pretty amazing! Sorry you had clouds roll in there and didn’t get to see it. The dumb clouds tried to steal my view too (and have done so for other celestial events in the past), but thankfully they eventually drifted away. I’m so glad I stayed up and waited that extra 30 minutes.
      There’s another Blood Moon in October, maybe you can catch that one.
      Hope you’re doing well today Trisha! 🙂

      Like

  10. That is a wonderful photo.

    Like

  11. I’m so jealous. I stayed up till 6am. Never got to see anything. Clouds everywhere….but I was ok with that because it snowed today!!!!! You’re connection to the moon is probably proportional to my connection to the snow. 😉 Incredible that you heard “drums”. I think it was the universe thanking you for making such an effort to honor this beautiful event. Thanks for sharing!!!

    Like

    • Sorry you didn’t get to see the eclipse, but happy that you seem quite pleased with the exchange ~ snow! About this time of year in Minnesota, we’re all feeling very finished with the snow, but I do love the snow (and it’s a good thing too, because we get a LOT of it here), I just mostly prefer it to only be November through mid February. 😉
      Yeah, that drum sound, what a trip, I really wonder what the heck that was. Perhaps it’s as you say… but it is definitely I who is thankful ~ it was a pretty darn amazing thing to see. 🙂

      Like

  12. I awoke on my own at 3:20 and looked outside, but it was cloudy, as forecast. I lay in bed for an hour and curiously enough, noticed there were some stars out. I got up and looked to see a large patch of open sky where the moon should have been, but couldn’t see it, it may have been too low behind the trees. I walked outside in my robe with the dog, but no luck. It still felt like a treat to see the stars on this “summery” night (it was 58 degrees!). The clouds quickly resumed their cover and it’s been pouring all day. Glad you got to see the eclipse!

    Like

    • Sounds like you gave it a valiant effort to try to see the eclipse, sorry it was too too cloudy. I’m glad the stars made a brief appearance for you though, I don’t get see many of those living in the city. That’s one of the things I really miss about living out in the country. I’ve been contemplating looking to see if there is an astronomy club here to maybe go on short outings with when there are cool celestial events happening, that ought to give me my star gazing “fix.” 🙂

      Like

      • That sounds like a great idea! You just reminded me that there is an observatory/planetarium at a nearby college where a group of amateurs gather on certain clear nights for folks to come & stargaze. We went when our kids were little, so it’s been a while!

        Like

  13. We had cloud cover, with rain/sleet.snow mix, so I’m totally jealous! But! I’ve loved seeing all the photos today!

    Like

    • Sorry it was dumb weather there and you didn’t get to see it Joey, it was really cool. I was pretty much in my glory here getting to observe my wonderful moon looking so freaking amazing! I wish I could have taken photos of it myself. I’m thankful for my humble little camera, but I hope someday I’ll be able to invest in a nicer one. Or at least one that can capture the moon. 🙂 There’s another eclipse in October…

      Like

  14. Wonderful shot Julie!! 🙂

    Like

    • I agree! I wish I had been able to take some photos of the eclipse with my own camera, but it just isn’t the type of camera that can capture decent shots of the moon. But I’m happy just to have been able to see the eclipse, it was really something! 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

