Beauty on Wings

 

Lovely Monarchs  fluttering free on the breeze

 gracefully dancing through the air with ease.

Alighting so softly on flowers of pink

sampling nectar, a delectable drink.

 

© Julie Rehnelt 2014

DSCF7284a1

~

DSCF7315a1

~

DSCF7308a1

~

DSCF7311a1

~

 

 

There is a lovely rain garden in the parking lot of the store across the street from my house, and I can see it from my patio.  Lately I’ve been noticing tons of Monarch butterflies fluttering around the various blossoms over there, it’s a lovely sight even from a distance, but the other morning while I was out there having my coffee, I decided to go over and take a closer look.  I brought my camera with me just in case there was opportunity to capture any of these little beauties on wings, and I figured even if I can’t get any nice shots of the Monarchs, the purple coneflower are at their peak blooming right now and they’re just gorgeous.  I was so happy to have captured both!  Thank you for letting me share them with you.

Have a beautiful day!

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

43 responses to “Beauty on Wings

  1. Beautiful shots – I have lots of butterflies around the buddleias here at the moment, which is always a delight.

    Hariod.

    Like

    • Thank you, Hariod. Butterflies are just one of those things that are so whimsical to me. i know they’re just flying bugs, but their wings are so pretty! Glad you have some fluttering around where you are too! 🙂

      Like

  2. Lovely photos and poem Julie. I’m glad you have a good enough camera to capture them. My cell phone hasn’t been able to catch the butterflies or hummingbirds, but I’m grateful for all my garden visitors this year. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Brad! I know, I think we’ve talked about cameras before, I wish I had a nicer one, but I’m so thankful for the one I have, it’s nothing fancy, but sometimes it pulls off some beautiful shots. 😀
      Even if you’re not able to catch them in a photo, it’s so wonderful you have all those little garden visitors. I’ve only had my garden here for a couple of years, and it’s most veggies, so I don’t get any butterflies. The flower bed is one I put in for my Mom 15-20 years ago and really needs updating, there are not any butterfly or hummingbird types of blooms growing there. But fortunately, in taking just a few steps across the street I can enjoy some! 🙂

      Like

  3. Wow! Absolutely gorgeous shots! Purple coneflowers are one of my favorite flowers and that butterfly is so beautiful.

    Like

    • Thanks Trisha! I love purple coneflowers too, I had them growing in my garden at my last house, but unless I redo some of the landscaping, I don’t really have a spot for them here. Lucky for me there are tons right across the street! 😀
      You’ve been a bit quiet over there lately my friend, hope all is well in your world. I was thinking of you yesterday when I went to my sister’s new house to help her with her sewing room. 🙂
      Sending sunny thoughts your way…

      Like

      • I have one purple coneflower plant but it doesn’t really like my shady backyard. How nice that you have so many right across the street!

        I’m okay here. Just feeling scattered from my inability to get into a routine in the summer. I always have great plans for posts but can’t get it together enough to write them. Plus, my computer is still not working right.

        Thank you for sharing those beautiful coneflower pictures!

        Like

      • Yeah, I think they like lots of bright sunshine, that’s why I don’t really have a good place for them here ~ my veggie bed gets all the sun. 😉 But maybe someday I’ll re-landscape the other side of the yard and have a good sunny spot there to plant some, and other blooming things too!

        Hope your computer gets sorted out ~ and your feeling scattered. ❤

        Like

  4. Words and photos to go to the top of the class today… brilliant…

    Like

  5. Julie, these monarch shots are gorgeous–especially the top one. I would love to spend a day wandering around in your yard 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Simon! The top one is my favorite too, but I also like the second one because of the pretty background colors.
      These photos were taken in the rain garden at the store across the street. I’m afraid you might be a bit disappointed in your wanderings here, it really is just a tiny, humble yard and garden, and probably not anything special to anyone else besides me. But I’m thankful for every inch of it! 😀

      Like

  6. Stunning, Julie! No other word.

    Like

  7. Great shots. You were able to get so close.

    Like

  8. OH! Julie!!! This is a huge WOW from me! What a beauty and your words exquisite. Thank you so much! Love, Amy

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Amy! I really appreciate that, and I’m so glad you liked it! I had a beautiful time capturing these with butterflies fluttering all around me, it was quite magical! 😀

      Like

  9. Coffee and camera–that’s the way to do it, Julie. These are so pretty.

    Like

    • Haha yes, and I need that coffee in order to operate the camera! 😉 Thanks so much, Loisajay! It was very pretty to see, and I’m glad I was able to capture some photos to show a bit of that beauty. 🙂

      Like

  10. The pictures are simply beautiful!

    Like

  11. Reblogged this on Eliza Waters and commented:
    You have NO idea how happy this post makes me!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. So delicate and so pretty !!

    Like

  13. Just beautiful! I got some shots of my pet swallowtail the other day. I have seen more monarchs this year, but they don’t pose as well as my pet swallowtail-lol…really beautiful shots!

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Robbie! I’ll have to go take a look at your pet swallowtail, those are so such lovely butterflies, I like them more than monarchs! I know what you mean… sometimes they’re so busy sampling all the different flowers, that they don’t stay posed long enough to catch a photo of them. 🙂

      Like

  14. and you have a beautiful day,too:-)

    Like

  15. These shots are just amazing Julie – you have such a gift for photography! Beautiful my friend. 🙂

    Like

  16. So beautiful! And so happy we connected 🙂

    Like

  17. What a wonderful talent you have capturing God’s creation. Well done.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

