Long Nights Moon

 

Even as the cold of winter tightens its icy grip

and the hours of blackness increase

the Long Nights Moon illuminates the darkness

glowing with its beautiful and mysterious light.

 

© Julie Rehnelt 2014

DSCF2095a1

 

The full moon the other night was absolutely stunning, and once again I was out there attempting (and failing) to capture it with my camera.  But as I’ve said before, I love the moon so much and I’ll never stop trying…                             “Never give up! Never surrender!”    😉

December’s full moon is sometimes called the Full Cold Moon to signify winter’s colder temps setting in, or the Full Long Nights Moon because the nights become longer.  How wonderful of the moon to help make those longer nights a little more brighter.  ❤

 

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

13 responses to “Long Nights Moon

  1. Oh, that is beautiful!!! 🙂 I saw the moonrise from my balcony the day before yesterday, it was very magical! I love the moon!!! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I go loopy around the full moon. o_O

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! I always feel brilliant during a full moon, when I go loopy is around the new moon. I guess I’m backwards from everyone else. 😉
      Hope you’re having a lovely day, Hariod. ❤

      Like

  3. Nice reflections Julie! I enjoyed looking at the moon the other night. Any light is good, reflected, full, partial or bright. XD
    I don’t even try for shots like this with my cell phone. Do you use a tripod and longer exposure?

    Like

    • Thanks Brad! 🙂
      I don’t try for any shots with my cell phone, it’s such poor quality, but it is handy for capturing quality memories while I’m out and about without my camera. I don’t have a tripod, and my camera is just a basic point and shoot with no useful adjustable settings other than a button I can press for macro. I have managed to snap a few semi-decent shots of the moon with it over the years, but usually it just shows up as a glowing orb with no detail. Sometimes I can catch it during the day or at dusk with okay results. I must admit…I don’t actually know anything about photography, I’m just always pretty much winging it. 😉

      Like

  4. I love this, Julie! That leaf looks like a little bear or elephant flying across the moon.

    Like

    • Thanks Loisajay, I’m so glad you liked it! I didn’t notice the leaf looking like anything, but I see now how it could look like a little bear or elephant. 🙂

      Like

  5. A lovely full moon and inspiring words.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I do so love the moon Julie!! I can’t manage to get to all your posts just now but wanted to wish you a lovely holiday season and a very happy new year. I hope that 2015 is a good one for you all. Much love and thanks for all your beautiful photos and poems through this last year. Lots of love xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Ruth, thank you so much! Sending my warmest wishes to you and yours as well for a very merry Christmas and wonderful new year! Much, much love to you too, my dear friend! xx ❤

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

