Agate Sunrise

 

Rings of golden amber ignite

as volcanic layers of ancient lavas

catch fire once again

in the radiance of an agate sunrise

 

© Julie Rehnelt 2015

DSCF2963d

 

I don’t know if I’ve ever shared here before about my love for rocks, but knowing how much I love all things nature, it probably comes as no surprise.  Ever since I was a little girl I’ve always delighted in and have been fascinated by everything that makes up our amazing earth, and as I’ve grown into an adult that delight and sense of wonder has stayed with me.  So much beauty, so much interconnection… I just find it all so astounding.  I’m deeply grateful for my five senses that enable me to explore and enjoy it all to the fullest.

Last weekend, my daughter and I took a little drive to the Enchanted Rock Garden where I picked up this beautiful Brazilian agate slice.  I’ve always thought rock slices were cool because it’s so interesting to see the various designs that are of the inside of them, but I’ve never bought one for myself until now.  I just loved this one’s warm rich colors, it reminds me of a caramel mocha latte.  Mmm…

When we got home, I promptly set it on my window ledge so it could catch the light, and the other morning as the sun was coming up I thought I’d try and see if I could capture a photo of it with the sunrise shining through it.  With my humble lens I could only do so much, and you can’t really see all the detail, but believe me this stone is simply gorgeous ~ even without the sun shining through it.

I have tons of rocks and crystals that I’ve collected over the years, my favorite being amethyst, but rose quartz, celestite, moonstone, and larimar are close behind.  I like rocks so much that when a friend of mine recently traveled abroad and asked what souvenir he could bring back for me, I told him a rock.   He brought me back three!  What I didn’t tell him was to steal one from a sacred cave.  Apparently, while he was on a group tour of some sacred cave monastery he witnessed a little boy getting hauled out by security guards when he had tried to take one of the rocks, and while they were busy with that, my friend snatched that same rock and stuffed it into his pocket.  Oh gosh.  Yeah, I’m not quite sure how I feel about the manner in which he acquired it, but I do appreciate his effort ~ risking his meager life and all.  😉

It’s a pretty cool rock too, but I won’t even attempt trying to capture a photo of it to show you because with my camera it wouldn’t look like much.  Oh, but if you want to see some exquisite rock photography, do yourself a favor and check out this guy… Mike Woodward Photography.  His photography is seriously beyond amazing, pure art, I can’t even explain!  I have one of his prints on canvas that my Mom gave me for Christmas last year and I absolutely love it!  I read that he’s going to be in Minnesota this summer for an art fair and I may need to go and meet him.  And to get another one of his pieces.  😀

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

27 responses to “Agate Sunrise

  1. I love rocks too! 🙂 My parents have mountain crystals and mica in their house 🙂 My favorites are Amethyst (My brith stone) and Rose quartz 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I tried to photograph a blue agate slice for one of my photos of the day, and although it’s pretty, the lens can’t do it justice. Yours turned out well. I suddenly think a caramel macchiato sounds yummy, too! 😛

    Liked by 2 people

    • I know what you mean, that’s how I feel about the photo I took of mine. Definitely go and click that link and take a look at Mike Woodward’s rock photography, it really is amazing. And then maybe go grab yourself a caramel macchiato! 😉

      Like

  3. Awesome photo, rock and passion for life. Thanks Julie! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I have some polished, agate bookends which I love 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I hope the snaffled rock isn’t cursed

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your new agate is stunning! A love of stones is another thing we have in common. I’ve got boxes of stones too and I’m crazy about agates. I’m fascinated with the way the light shines through them. Nature is so amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Trisha, it looks even cooler in person! So fun to find another thing that we have in common! I’d love to look through your boxes of stones, we can spend hours at the Enchanted Rock Garden, just ogling at all the cool stuff… it’s like a candy store of rocks! 😀 Indeed nature is so amazing!

      Like

  7. WOW!! It looks so beautiful catching the light 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I wondered what it was. Gosh, Julie–it is beautiful! Heading to the slammer to get a rock for you–what a cool story! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Just awesome Jewels. YEARS ago I really wanted to start doing lapidary work as a hobby. I love rocks too but could not afford the equipment and tools at the time. Maybe someday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks John. Lapidary work would be a cool hobby. I know what you mean… I think it’d be cool to do blown or stained glass work (I adore colored glass), but there too the expense of the equipment would hold me back. Heck, right now I’d just settle for a fancier camera. 😉

      Like

  10. Now that’s a pretty photo. Any time I see anything to do with rocks/minerals, I perk up like a dog sniffing out a bone. I loooove them. I once got completely lucky and found some amethyst bookends (amethyst with a wooden base) at a yard sale…for…get this…$2!!! Oh man, what a steal. And, like I said in my other comment, I wish we had something like the Enchanted Rock Garden in Chicago. I’m sure we do, but I just haven’t found it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Gabby! Oooo amethyst bookends?!? How lovely and only $2?! I’m envious of that awesome score. 😉 I’ve been looking for an amethyst geode lamp. I have a rose quartz lamp that is just gorgeous, but with amethyst being my favorite I think it’d be so cool have an amethyst one too. One can never have too many rocks. Haha!
      We’re really lucky to have The Enchanted Rock Garden not to far from home, like I said to Trisha above… it’s like a candy store of rocks! I’m sure there’s got to be a rock and gem type place somewhere there in Chicago. Especially since you’re getting such awesome rock stuff at yard sales there! 😉

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

