Icy Adventures

 I’m always keeping an eye out for new and interesting adventures, so when I heard about an Ice Castle at a park not too far from home, I thought it might be something cool to go and see.  And it was, literally.  😉

It was a balmy 28 degrees yesterday, and I figured that was about as good as it was gonna get for January in Minnesota, so my daughter and I bundled up and headed over there to check it out.

When we first stepped through the “gates” I was a bit awestruck, it was like walking into a frozen cavern in Antarctica.  The ice formations were absolutely stunning, it took my breath away!  After taking a few moments to just revel in the beauty of it all, I excitedly began snapping photos.

Unfortunately, it was not the best lighting that day for taking pictures with my camera, but I did end up with a few that turned out alright…

DSCF3319a1

DSCF3281a1

DSCF3279a1

I wish I could have truly captured just how gorgeous it really was.

And I also wish I could have gotten a better shot of this next one… looking up was so amazing, the huge icicles looming above our heads were like giant frozen stalactites…

DSCF3276a1

 As we ventured further in though, we were a bit disappointed to realize that it was mostly an open type of area.  In looking at the pictures and information online we were expecting it to be different, more enclosed.  There were a couple of pathways that gave more of a feel of being inside an icy cavern, but they weren’t anywhere near as lovely and inspiring as the entrance was.  There were a few smaller cavities, tunnels, and even an ice slide for children to enjoy, but alas… I was too large to explore them.  My daughter was sad that she was too large as well, and she’s pretty small.  I enjoyed watching all the children enjoy it though, and there were millions of them everywhere, it was wonderful!  They were loving every inch of that place, so filled with wonder and excitement, it was really a delight to see!  I ❤ children.

But because those millions of children were there along with their parents, that made for tons of people, so it was hard to get wider shots without any people in them.  I did manage to get a couple though.  I loved the way this tree was leaning…

DSCF3310a1

Funny, the tree in this one is leaning a bit too…

DSCF3294a

As a whole, the place seemed more like a fortress of iced walls than a castle to me.  But those walls sure were beautiful…

DSCF3270a1

This next one was taken from outside of the castle.  Evening was falling, so the lighting was even more of a problem for me to get a decent photo, but you can still tell that it was a lovely and impressive wall of ice.  Those trees in the background were quite tall if that helps give any idea of the scale of its size…

DSCF3333a1

At night the ice is all lit up, and as you can probably imagine… the affect is spectacular!  Sadly, I was not able to get any photos that weren’t all blurry, and I hesitate to even share this one that I took from the parking lot outside as we were leaving because it’s a really poor example of how amazing it looked, but I will anyway because the color is so lovely…

DSCF3392a

Blue is such a beautiful color isn’t it?  ❤

And winter is beautiful too!  I really enjoyed this little Icy Adventure, thanks for letting me share it with you!   😀

 

I’ll leave you with this music video of Lindsey Stirling performing Crystallize.  It’s one of my favorites, and interestingly… it was filmed at one of these same Ice Castles that they made in Colorado.  If you like violin and dubstep music, it’s well worth the 5 minutes to watch, not to mention the icy scenery is pretty cool…

~

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!  Stay cool!

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

40 responses to “Icy Adventures

  1. Oh, Jewels, I am totally jealous! How beautiful! I think your pictures are really good, as usual, so I can only imagine, if you think they’re not up to par, it must have been amazing! I’m quite fond of the leaning tree (1st one.) I wish I could go! And I would demand an adult-size slide! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really was super cool Joey, and sooo beautiful! Thanks so much, that’s probably it… maybe I’m being extra hard on the pictures because it all really was just so amazing, the pictures can’t do it justice. But I do wish I had a better camera. 😉 I really like that shot of the leaning tree as well, I was gonna save it for a poem because I feel so many things while looking at it. 🙂 Yes, an adult sized slide is definitely in order! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Chronic Conditions & Life Lessons and commented:
    Breathtaking formations of frozen nature. Winter awe at its best.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. So loved this, Jewels!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Spectacular! Thanks so much for shring.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful. Once again I wish I had half your talent in photography. My favorite is your least favorite, the “castle” all lit up in blue. Them again it may be my eyesight, lol. 👓

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The photos are just fine Julie. The ice formations look wonderful. I love the way you embrace your climate and surroundings. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is pretty darn amazing, Julie. And your photos are beautiful. Balmy 28, eh? We would be bundled up to our eyeballs down here!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really was amazing, and thanks! 🙂 Haha 28 could be considered somewhat “warm” for us for January, but it still felt pretty nippy, especially as it got dark out. We should have waited until today to go, I think it got up to 40.

      Like

  8. Oh, I love love love this!!! 🙂 and I wish wish wish I could go there!! 🙂 ❤
    Thank you for showing it to me! 🙂 ❤

    Like

  9. Some absolutely amazing photos…Loved the video.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lovely ice photos, and those stalactites are stunning 🙂 It does look beautiful all lit up in blue 🙂 Listening to the song now 🙂 Her fingers must have been freezing! Amazing she could still play so well!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. the music was a treat this morning – thanks for posting this – it came up in my reader and made my morning – like the ice too 🙂 good day

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sounds like a wonderful adventure, Julie. How are these made? They must take weeks to create. Lit up at night it must look spectacular! Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really was a wonderful adventure, Eliza. I’m not sure on the specifics on exactly how they’re made, but my understanding is that they grow icicles and then sculpt them together somehow. Yes, it really was quite spectacular when it was all lit up, so lovely…

      Like

  13. Oh wow! That must have been a BEAUTIFUL sight to see! Those are some amazing photos. I wish we had something like this in Chicago.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really was so beautiful, Gabby! Hey, maybe they’ll come to Chicago, I think they move around and have them as different places each year. One can hope… 🙂

      Like

  14. Wow, what a cool place/thing! Being a big fan of ice, I would love to see one of those ice castles, especially at night. Thanks to your post, I’m now a fan of Lindsey Stirling too! I’m glad you got out for an adventure. It was a weekend of staying indoors for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was pretty amazing! According to Brad’s comment above they had/have some ice caves there on Mt Rainier, not quite the same as a “castle” with the lights and all, but that would be pretty cool to see! I loooove Mt Rainier! ❤
      I know, isn't that a cool music video?! Such lovely icy surroundings, and I gotta say… I really dig the dubstep added to the violin. 😀
      It was nice to get out and have a fun wintry adventure, driving there and back was a bit stressful though because I was unfamiliar with the area and had to merge on and off multiple freeways with crazy drivers. It's interesting how different freeways have their own "vibe" of drivers. I'm not typically a nervous driver, but I had to do a bit of deep breathing just to try to stop my heart from racing from their aggressive vibes. Haha!

      Like

  15. Very beautiful place and pictures. To cold for me…

    Like

  16. This looks incredible !

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

