Crystal Coral

 

 In the frozen depths of winter’s icy ocean

a colony of coral creates a reef of frosty crystals

Spreading beauty throughout the season’s arctic seas


© Julie Rehnelt 2015

DSCF4255a1

~

Needless to say, the frost on my windows this morning reminded me of coral.  🙂  And that I am longing for the ocean…

 

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

27 responses to “Crystal Coral

  1. I’m with you on longing for the ocean! I grew up on the east coast and miss the easy access to the ocean. I’m past due for a trip. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That must have been so wonderful to grow up near the ocean. I grew up here ~ smack dab in the middle of the continent, nowhere near any ocean, but over the course of 20 years I would make yearly trips out to the west coast to visit my sister, and spent time together frolicking near the ocean. Unfortunately, I haven’t been out there since she moved back home here in 2006, so I’m way past due as well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Winter can be lethal, but does produce such amazing beauty…I get that bug every 2 to 3 months and the only cure is to make the trip to the ocean.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a wonderful way of looking at it. I too am longing for the waves of ocean and the smell of the briny deep sea. As cold as I have been in recent days the feel warm sand between my toes sounds simply heavenly. The picture of your wintery coral makes no difference to me, it reminds me of Spring and Summer, that alone almost makes me feel warm inside and out. ⛄

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely words to go with your pretty “Jack Frost” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You take the most wonderful pictures of frost!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So pretty! And it is reminiscent of delicate coral. I’m missing the ocean too. I told Don just last night that we need to make a trip to the ocean this summer. Thank you for sharing your frost! It’s something I love and haven’t seen nearly enough of this winter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Trisha! I’m so envious of your closeness to the Pacific! 😛 I hope it works out for you guys to make a trip there this summer. My sister was just saying on the phone earlier that her and I should take a trip there ourselves this summer, maybe for the lavender festival in Sequim in July. Gosh, that would be so wonderful! I don’t really see a way for that to work out, but we’ll have to wait and see. 🙂

      Like

      • I would love to go to Sequim for the lavender festival too, or at least get over there while the lavender is blooming. I hope it works out that you and your sister can make it. You could get a lavender and ocean fix at the same time. (Well, at least a saltwater fix) If you go, let me know when you’ll be there. I’d love to meet you in person!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve never been there during the actual festival, and maybe that’s better (less people to navigate through – it should be a relaxing experience after all, right?), but the lavender has always been blooming when I’ve visited. Oh yes, yes and more yes… a lavender and an ocean fix at the same time! How divine. ❤ Also a forest fix… We would have to go to the Hoh Rainforest too while on the Peninsula. Sigh, just talking about it makes my heart long for it even more…
        And omygosh Trisha, that would be so great to meet you in person! I would most definitely let you know when I'd be in the area. Don't know if it'll happen though, it's a matter of scraping up the finances and then justifying it to myself when funds are so tight. I do have a little chunk of money set aside for my England, Ireland and Scotland dream, but I don't want to use that, so I'll have to see what else I can come up with. If only some money would magically fall from the sky into my lap… 😉

        Like

      • A little money falling this way would be good also! Don and I are talking about starting to save up for a trip to England, Ireland and Scotland too. It’s funny how much those places call to some people.

        And the Hoh rainforest would be wonderful too. I haven’t been there since the kids were little. I love the beaches out that way.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s great Don wants to go there too, I wish I had a significant other to travel to those places with. Maybe some day…
        I know, the beaches on the Peninsula are great, I love Kalaloch! ❤

        Like

      • There are times that traveling with a friend, daughter or sister would be better. There are places I want to go that I’m not so sure Don will be excited about, like the lavender fields in Sequim and some of the sacred sites. I can just hear it, “we travelled all this way to look at a well?” 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re right, I always have a blast when traveling with my sister!
        LOL @ “we traveled all this way to look at a well?” I would totally want to see that well! 😀

        Like

  7. Love this Julie … it could have been another frosty photo an you took me away to coral beaches and oceans blue. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. As long as that ocean is near, say, Hawaii, I’m down for it, too!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Excellent photo. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

