Raindrops

 

Heavy raindrops

fall upon my rooftop

playing a peaceful lullaby as I sleep

 

And when I awake

I find a relieving break

in the clouds of my restless mind.

 

© Julie Rehnelt 2015

DSCF4020a1

~

It may be a bit dreary here this morning, but it was wonderful to awake to the sound of raindrops falling above my head during the night.  It lulled me right back to sleep, it was so peaceful.

  It’s been a long time since we’ve had a good rain here, even the birds are out there singing about it this morning – another wonderful sound.  Springtime is such a lovely time of renewal, isn’t it?  I’m feeling a bit renewed myself this morning, I’m thankfully in much better spirits than I was the other day.

Hope you find yourself in good spirits today too, wishing you a peaceful Sunday…

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

22 responses to “Raindrops

  1. The bit of sun and the sounds of birds surely lift up my spirit. Spring is a wonderful time. Wish you a great Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Sunday to you, Julie! Hope the rest of your week is wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rain can be so refreshing. I love the line about the rain clearing your restless mind. Maybe we need to go dance in the rain along with the birds! XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • It can be, and so cleansing too. Thanks Brad, it’s always wonderful to have a break in the clouds – whether actual clouds or the ones inside your head. 😉
      Hah I don’t know about dancing in the rain, these knees of mine prevent me from doing much dancing these days, but singing with the birds I could do. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful poem – when I saw your photo I thought of the frost pics you posted – the seasons have changed! Looking forward to the warmer months. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Eliza. The seasons have definitely changed – although the rain on my windows isn’t quite as pretty as the frost. 😉
      I’m looking forward to the warmer months too!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love when the rain refreshes the spirit. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Spring rains are refreshing. It sprinkled a bit here today and it smelled so nice while it did. I’m glad you’re feeling better than the other day and that you got to drift back to sleep while listening to the rain. That’s always so nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They sure are, I can’t wait to see the color green again. I love the smell too, I bet it’s greening up nicely there for you.
      Thanks Trisha, I am feeling better, though still not completely out of the woods, my emotions are sort of all over the place at the moment – I think it’s hormones. :/
      But the sound of the rain was so peaceful and soothing to lay there listening to. I have one of those sound machines next to my bed and always have it on the rain setting, but it’s nothing like the sound of real raindrops. 😉

      Like

      • I’ve wondered if some of my emotional turmoil could be because of hormones too. It’s alarming to think that the transition through menopause can last for 10 years! I have to keep affirming to myself, “all is well.” I hate feeling so anxious and fragile. We’ll get through this!

        Like

      • TEN years? No freaking way, I am not going through menopause for 10 years, I refuse! My doc said it’s usually 3, and that’s bad enough. Yes, I echo that… all is well… ommmm… 😉

        Like

  7. Absolutely loved the final line – so perfect. Happy Monday, btw.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The sound of rain is magical! Lovely words.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Just love a rainy day–and a Sunday is the perfect day to take a rainy day nap, doncha think?

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

