Beautiful Distraction

 

While my heart is laid low and filled with despair

you suddenly catch my attention as you fly through the air.

Without even thinking I rise up to follow

reaching for my camera, forgetting my sorrow.

I lose all track of time during our quiet interaction

chasing you with my lens is a beautiful distraction.

 

© Julie Rehnelt 2015

100_6063a1

100_6093a1

100_6086a1

100_6088a1

~

True story.

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

35 responses to “Beautiful Distraction

  1. Beautiful, both thought and butterfly. Isn’t it grand how nature’s simple beauty can change our hearts in a moment. Hope you’re feeling lighter today 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely poem, photos and distraction indeed Julie. I’m glad this beautiful butterfly helped lift your spirits. May songs of joy fly on butterfly wings. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Brad. It was an interesting and wonderful thing to realize it afterward how I had gotten distracted from my grief by chasing this little creature with my lens. A friend of mine once told me that photography saved her life because by focusing on the subjects she was trying to capture, she was able to stop focusing so much on the troubles that were plaguing her at the time. To a smaller extent, I understand more now what she meant by that – I completely forgot I was sad. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. lovely poem and images.expression of the poem is very fine.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a beautiful distraction indeed! I’m sorry you were feeling such despair before the butterfly showed up though. I hope you’re feeling better. Hugs to you, my beautiful friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Trisha, I am feeling better. Not only did that butterfly come along and distract me from feeling sad, but then right after that my sister popped over and had a big hug for me, and a listening ear. ❤
      Hope you have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

      Like

  5. Beautiful shots and poem. I love having the butterflies back dancing around the bushes reminding us that we are always on a journey of transformation.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. BEAUTIFUL!!!! Mother has the same kind of pull on me. When I get lost in Her, my sorrows disappear. BIG (((HUGS))) for those tough times, Julie!!! Love, Amy ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Let nature nourish and replenish 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful poem and pics, from a beautiful heart. May this moment be a mark of the sunrise of your hope. For like the butterfly metamorphosis brought beauty and form and adventure out of the closed dark place of the cocoon.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This is delightful!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hope all is well, Julie. The elusive butterfly, perfectly captured by your lens.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Great captures

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The early butterflies are extra wonderful after the kind of winter we had this year!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. “Beautiful distraction” – love it! Great title and a beautiful poem. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

