Weekly Photo Challenge: Broken

 

Broken wings

and hurtful things

get me down sometimes

 

But when hope rings

my heart sings

and I find the strength to fly.

 

© Julie Rehnelt 2015

DSCF6391a2

 

It was so sad to see this little butterfly sitting there with a torn, broken wing in my garden the other day.  But then, just after I snapped this picture it flew away, and I was so happy that it could still fly to live another day.  Even damaged, it’s still a beautiful little creature.

A million metaphors come to mind, but I’m not feeling able to formulate any of them into words on this Monday, so my silly poem above will have to do for now.

I hope your week is off to a good start, wishing you joy and hope and purpose today…

 

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

 

And just because everything reminds me of a song….

The Broken Beautiful by Ellie Holcomb

 

WPC:  Broken

30 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Broken

  1. Maybe silly, imperfect and damaged are good enough Julie. Letting go of perfectionism and ideals are big lessons for me. May your heart be full.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh, I just love love love this post!! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Wow, what a beautiful poem and wonderfully encouraging insight God has given you here Jewels! That is such a precious word of prophetic encouragement. I believe God in His love sent that butterfly to you, and for you. Thanks for sharing it. I so love what you share from the heart, it is always very special. I love viewing the beautiful colour and splendor of your amazing lilac flowers from your previous post, I can almost smell the wafting scent.:-)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much, I really appreciate that! I’m definitely finding that butterflies seem to be creatures that I relate to in many different ways lately, and I’m thankful for the little inspirations, insights, and life metaphors they bring! It’s just like God to use His creation to speak to me. ❤
      Sadly, the old fashioned lilacs are all done blooming now, but the dwarf varieties are starting up, and although they're quite different, they smell lovely too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Poem not silly at all and your poem did very well actually! It expressed exactly what you felt…heart rendering compassion for the little injured creature. I too would have been so happy to see it fly. So sensitive…take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think it’s a wonderful poem and not silly at all. I’m so glad to hear that the butterfly could still fly!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful creature and poem. Even broken, we can manage to fly if we will it!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a moving poem. So sad to see a butterfly like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Poor little fella! I’m so glad he was able to get up and fly away even with a broken wing. It also reminded me of this Ed Sheeran song–the second time that one of your posts has made me think of music, incidentally 🙂 https://youtu.be/YdOF_qYWx-s

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yeah … there’s always hope 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Butterflies are one of the truly special treasures in our world…I am always amazed how such fragile creatures preserve in our world.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Broken | My Own Champion

  12. Fly high, Julie. Beautiful and moving post.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. It is pretty amazing they can fly at all! Their wings are so delicate. I have seen some pretty battered butterflies and it is tough to imagine what happened to cause the damage. Did you know you can repair butterfly wings with glue? My son and I did an emergency surgery on a monarch once. I couldn’t believe it actually worked.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, it is amazing that something so seemingly fragile can fly.
      I didn’t know you could repair butterfly wings with glue! Your son sounds like my daughter – she would totally try doing something like that. It’s so wonderful that it actually worked!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

