Wordless Wednesday – Be More Heart

Yes… it’s yet another music selection that I’m sharing on this Wordless Wednesday.  And this one isn’t even technically “wordless” nor am I going to be.  Perhaps I should entitle this post differently.   Nah…

This morning during my quiet time I was thinking about what I want to be.  I’ve been trying to figure that out since my divorce began back in 2009.  Of course, I’ve mostly been thinking about what I want to be in regard to what I should do as far as a job or career goes.  Other than working at my daughter’s school for 11 of the 20 years of my marriage, I was mostly a stay-at-home mom and homemaker and didn’t have a career.  Well, I still haven’t quite figured out that part yet, thankfully I’ve had the financial provision these past few years to take the time to try and figure it out (along with other things), but aside from that… I know without any hesitation what I actually want to “be.”

I want to be Love.  I know that sounds super sappy, but it’s true.  And I want to be Joy, and Peace, and Light too.  Especially to my loved ones – my family and friends, and a special someone who is far across the ocean, but also to all of the other people I interact with each day – all of you, my neighbors, the people I encounter on my bike rides, and the people working at the various places where I shop.  The other day, the little gal at the checkout counter who I visit with at the co op where I buy my groceries asked me if I could just stay there with her all day while she worked because she enjoyed me so much.  And I think to myself… gosh, I wish I could have that effect on everyone – to bring true joy and genuine love into their day, into their lives.  And I wish I could do more for the whole world at large. I know that sounds a bit grandiose, but I don’t mean it to.

Anyway, onto this song I’d like to share…  it has such a wonderful message to it and it’s what want – to “Be more heart and less attack.”  But also, I really love the music.  I must say… there is nothing like the gentle strum of an acoustic guitar, it makes me want to pick up mine.  Maybe I will…

I hope you enjoy the song and that it encourages you today to ‘be more heart and less attack.’  Can you imagine a world like that?  I’ll list the lyrics to the song too.  Boy, now we’re really crossing the line… so much for being “wordless.”  Hah, guess I’ve never really been one to follow the rules…

 

 

LYRICS:

Be the light in the cracks
Be the one that’s mending the camel’s back
Slow to anger and quick to laugh
Be more heart and less attack

Be the wheels not the track
Be the wanderer that’s coming back
Leave the past right where it’s at
Be more heart and less attack

oooooooo

The more you take, the less you have
‘Cause it’s you in the mirror that’s starin’ back
Quick to let go, slow to react
Be more heart and less attack

Ever growing, steadfast
And if need be, the one that’s in the gap
Be the never turning back
Twice the heart any man could have

oooooooo

Be the wheels not the track
Be the wanderer that’s coming back
Leave the past right where it’s at
Be more heart and less attack
Be more love and less attack

oooooooo

I stuck my hat out
I caught the rain drops
I drank the water
I felt my veins pop
I’m nearly sanctified
I’m nearly broken
I’m down the river, I’m nearly open

I stuck my hat out
I caught the rain drops
I drank the water
I felt my veins pop
I’m nearly sanctified
I’m nearly broken
I’m down the river, I’m nearly open

I’m down the river, to where I’m going

~

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

24 responses to “Wordless Wednesday – Be More Heart

  1. You little rule-breaker you 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great song, lyrics and life direction Julie! Be more love! I’ve struggled with figuring out what I want to do with my life. Sometimes I find peace in the idea to focus on bringing more peace, love and compassion into the world.
    Hugs and blessings, Brad

    Liked by 1 person

    • So glad you liked the song Brad, thanks for taking the time to listen. I think I’ve mostly struggled with figuring the career part of it out because everything I’d like to do won’t earn me a good enough living. I’m so thankful I’ve had all this time to heal and grow since my divorce and haven’t had to worry about the financial part, but a time is soon coming when I’m gonna have to figure it out. However, today… I’m just going to focus on being love. Hopefully all the rest will flow naturally out of that 🙂 Hope your day has been filled with love today my friend, hugs and blessings back to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Being love, peace, joy and light is such a wonderful goal. It seems to me that you’re already doing a great job of being all those things!

    Liked by 1 person

    • If only I could earn a living from being those things. 😉
      Thanks so much Trisha, what a lovely thing to say, I really appreciate hearing that! ❤

      Like

      • You bring such light and joy through your blog, your light must be truly dazzling in person. And what the clerk said is evidence of that. It is a shame the pay isn’t better for that kind of job though. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bringing light and joy to others is always what I try to do, so it makes me so happy to hear that it translates through my blog. Thank you Trisha, again.
        Hope you have a wonderful day today, filled with tons of love and all that other good stuff! ❤ I'm off to get my hair colored and then go rescue my sister from having to hang around all day at the auto repair shop for her car. I'm sure we'll find some sort of fun mischief to get into along the way. 😉

        Like

  4. Seems to me you have come to a crossroads in your life…which way to go now? What really matters? What is the meaning of Life…and Your Life? Huge mega questions…seems to me you are doing a pretty good job of answering them…like you, I also believe in spreading love, hope and good karma wherever possible…no anger, no judgement, slow down in life, simplify things Do the things that you love doing…have a passion for…I am not quite there, not painting enough…it’s work in progress. Enjoy the exciting journey ahead, loved the song, thank you. : >)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been at this crossroad for a long time Krys, and each day things become a little more clear. I have to believe that as I “Let yourself be silently drawn by the strange pull of what you really love. It will not lead you astray.” 🙂 I hope you get some time in for your painting soon, and for whatever else you love. ❤ Glad you enjoyed the song, and thank you for taking the time to listen to it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I can’t think of anything better than Love as a career option. That’s where I put my own effort, too, into what I love. Good luck at becoming Love, I think you’re already quite good at Joy and Light!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right?! Too bad the financial payout of being Love isn’t quite enough to earn a living. 😉 Good thing I don’t have to worry about that just yet. Thanks so much, Joey! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  6. So beautiful Julie! I love this song 🙂
    What a great message to send out to the Universe…. be open to what shows up next!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Val! x I’m so glad you liked the song. I only came across it recently, but it speaks so much to me. Mostly for the lyrics of course, but I also love the guitar and the sound of the singer’s voice. 🙂
      I’m definitely open to what shows up next! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. You have a beautiful heart Jewels, and God has you close to His, thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Yes! This is one of my favorite Needtobreathe songs Julie, and I like that you shared a personal message about it as well. I like your life goal of being Love, and if you ask me you have been doing a fantastic job of that for as long as I have known you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really love it too, they have a lot of great music. Incidentally, my favorite of theirs also has the word heart in it…

      Thank you so much, Simon, I really appreciate you saying that! I wish you guys still lived up here, so I could love a bit on those adorable little boys of yours. 🙂

      Like

  9. I loved this Wordless Wednesday, Julie! Be more heart and less attack. Boy, if that doesn’t put things in perspective…..

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Those lyrics are great.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. beautiful song I love the lyrics and your post thank you for sharing my friend ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

