Kiss the Sky

 

Swept up in summer’s playful winds

soaring on borrowed wings

I kiss the sky

 

© Julie Rehnelt 2015

DSCF8152a1

 

 

That’s my pretty butterfly kite, doesn’t it look happy?!  🙂

 

And I was so happy flying it.  I can’t even tell you how wonderful it was to go out and fly kites the other day.  I don’t think my smile left my face even once all day.  And I’m so grateful to my little family for just dropping everything else for the day and taking off on a whim to go to the lake to fly them with me.  ❤

Not that they minded too much, as we could all use a bit of playtime amidst everything else that is going on in our lives lately.  And I gotta love the synchronicity that exists among my family members…

That morning, just as I finished writing what I ended up sharing in my Windy Morning Musings post, my daughter came into my room; and walking over to look out my window, the first thing she said was “the trees are saying things” (like mother like daughter ha!), and I’m like “I know!” and showed her what I had just written.  She smiled, we talked a while, and after she left my room, I went to my laptop to post what I had written onto my blog, when I got a text from my sister saying “I love this weather!” immediately followed by another that said “I LOVE that wind blowing through the trees!”  And I’m like “Me too!  I was just about to post a poem about it on my blog.”

So funny, you can definitely tell we’re all related.  The only one who was a bit out of the loop that morning was my Mom who was down at her computer trying to set up a new monitor.  Because of the tendency there is to get absorbed when working with setting up any sort of new technology, she’d barely even noticed it was windy out.  Plus, she’s not really ‘into’ nature like the rest of us, and doesn’t usually notice things like the wind and the trees talking.  😉  But as soon as I called down to her and said that I wanted to go fly kites, she dropped everything and went to get ready.  And she hates the wind.   She’s such a good egg.

And she sat there with an egg a bag on her head the entire day because she had just gotten her hair done the day before and didn’t want it to get ruined.  But as you can see from the photo my sister snapped of her with her phone – her smile still remained intact in spite of it.

20150729_171315

What a great sport she is!  I love my Mom ❤

 

And my daughter, who was in actuality feeling quite sick that day, was a great sport as well and still enjoyed herself too.  I snapped this of her with my sister’s phone while she was trying out my butterfly kite…

20150729_153825

 

My sister has a boat load of kites.  She accumulated all of them during the time she lived in Seattle, Washington.  Each year in Long Beach, Washington they hold an International Kite Festival during the third week of August, where people from all over the world come to celebrate the joy of kite flying.  I went to it one year and let me tell you… it was sooo much fun, and just seeing the massive amount of kites flying in the air during the festival was an amazing experience!  I would love to go again sometime.  Anyway, my sister brought ALL of her kites with us.  She has some pretty unique kites, some of which she made herself at workshops she’d attended during the festival.  I wish I had some photos of them to share, but most of the day I was too busy flying kites and not thinking of taking pictures.  I did however, snap this one of my sister standing with one of her star-shaped box kites…

20150729_141547

That thing is huge!

 

But it’s nothing in comparison to her kite, Galileo.  Now that kite is something magnificent!  She bought it from a guy from Tasmania that she met at the festival one year who had designed and made it himself.  Gosh, you should have seen us struggling trying to assemble Galileo in the wind, haha what a riot!  Plus, it is an extremely complicated contraption and took us nearly TWO HOURS to put together.  But oh was it ever worth it, flying Galileo was a wonderful feeling!  My sister snapped these with her phone while I had it flying up in the sky…

20150729_161702a

20150729_161712a

20150729_161617a

I wish you could tell how huge this thing is.  Its tails alone have got to be at least 25 feet long.

Here it is flying next to my butterfly kite, but you still can’t fully tell how big it really is…

20150729_161213a

And I had big fun flying it!  🙂

 

And have I mentioned yet what a gorgeous day it was?  I love being ‘swept up in summer’s playful winds.’

 

May you be swept up in something playful today too!

 

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

36 responses to “Kiss the Sky

  1. Wow! Sounds like a fantastic day! 🙂 Thanks for sharing these great shots. The Galileo kite is massive and must have taken some flying!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was a fun day, thanks! 🙂 Yes, Galileo took some flying, it crashed a few times and we had to reassemble some of its parts. We could have used a bigger area for flying too. Next time we’re going to try flying it in an open field instead of by the lake, because we were afraid if it crashed in the lake we’d lose some of its parts in the water.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That looks like a perfect way to spend a windy and sunny day! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Looks like someone had a real fun day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How awesome, Julie! Such a joyful post, I’m so glad you shared it with us. Your sister’s collection must be amazing if Galileo is only one example! Next time, how about a video clip? 🙂 Aren’t followers so demanding? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha not demanding at all, it would be fun to take videos, if only I had a video camera. My sister’s phone can take videos though, so maybe next time if I’m not being too ‘swept up’ I’ll try it out. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow!!! I’ve never seen a kite like your sister’s! It is so thrilling Julie! What an exhilarating day 🙂
    Thank you for sharing it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Galileo really is some kite, and when it lifted off and soared into the air it was just the greatest feeling! Exhilarating is the perfect word to describe the day Val. Wish I had thought to use it. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This was such a cool post, Julie. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about your kite-flying adventures, and I like your ending line too. And just for that, I’m going to go out and let myself be swept up in something playful today: when we take our kids to the pool later on, I’m going to splash and jump with them and refuse to care what anyone else might think 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I smiled the entire time I read this, Julie! We have a kite flying club down here and I am amazed at their kites although I think they would be amazed at your sister’s Galileo. That kite is huge!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad it made you smile, Lois! 🙂 Since our little kiting adventure we’ve been looking into kite clubs in the area, but they don’t seem to be very common, and the ones we found seem to be more active in the winter months. Kite flying in January… brrrr!
      Yeah, my sister’s Galileo is an amazing kite, and it was so exciting to fly such a massive thing! 😀

      Like

  8. How fun your family is to just drop everything and go fly kites!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wow Julie! Your kite flying day sure looks fun. 🙂 I bet you would like the book and movie The Kite Runner. Though it does have deeper topics and challenges for the 2 characters. I haven’t flown a kite since I was a child, but I could be persuaded. 🙂 to playing and family adventures.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was a lot of fun Brad, so wonderful to get out there and play with my family and with the wind! 🙂 I’ve seen that movie, and from what I remember it was pretty good. I never really flew kites as a child, but I’ve made up for that as an adult. It’s so freeing and a great way to awaken your inner child. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. What joyful shots!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Wow how beautiful, love the poem …I love kite flying and you all look so happy! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Those kites are so beautiful that I’m speechless! 🙂 And your mom is so cool there 😉

    Like

  13. Wow. That was a full and enjoyable post, Julie

    Liked by 1 person

  14. A brilliant day for you, your daughter and mother – these are the moments that make life so perfectly livable 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really was a fun and whimsical day for all of us, one that will stay in my memory banks forever. You’re absolutely right, these are the moments that make life wonderful. 🙂

      Like

  15. It looked amazing!! What a great day!# 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

