Foreshadowing

 

A glassy foreshadowing of the cold to come

when the autumn colors are all done

 

© Julie Rehnelt 2015

DSCF9443a1

 

I know, I know, everyone dreads the cold temps of winter, but look at the glass icicle I made!  It didn’t really actually turn out looking the way it was supposed to, but I’m still proud of it –  it was a lot harder to make than one might realize, and it looks pretty dangling there in the midst of the fall foliage.  Autumn makes everything beautiful.  ❤

A dear friend of mine gave me a gift certificate for a glass-making class for my birthday in August, and this past weekend we attended the class together – Basics in Boron at Potekglass.

It was a little scary using a blow torch at first, and there are many hazards to working with glass, but it was a really fun experience, and I’m so thankful to my friend for giving me such a wonderful gift.  I love learning new things… even if I end up not being very good at it.

I also made this…

DSCF9397a

It’s supposed to be a paperweight, but I think it’s a bit too small to actually weigh down much of anything.  Again, it didn’t really turn out exactly like it was supposed to, but it still looks pretty cool and I’m proud of it.

We also learned glass blowing, and mine literally blew up.  Oops!  Did you know that you actually blow into molten glass to blow glass?  I know, it seems like a no-brainer given the word blow, but I didn’t realize you use your mouth.  It’s a bit unnerving having your mouth on the end of something that is like a thousand degrees only a few inches away.  I don’t think I’ll be trying that again.

But I definitely think I’d like to take another glass-making class again sometime, I’d love to learn how to make stained glass.  I’d also like to try making more of those icicles – they’d be lovely on a Christmas tree or to give as a gift.  And they’re not as cold as real icicle.   😉

Stay warm my friends…

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

47 responses to “Foreshadowing

  1. how cooooool!!! You could fooled me with the icicle~ I did think it was real! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Julie, both of these treasures would make lovely pendants.
    Blessings as you create art ~ Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t suppose there’s any chance of you rustling me up some new double glazing is there, Julie?

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Annette Rochelle Aben

    Neat-o! I have to say, at first glance, I winced a bit. Fine job!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You fooled me too with your glass icicles! Very creative Julie. 🙂 The class sounds like a blast and something fun to try. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. First efforts or not, these works are highly impressive Julie. Have you ever been to Venice and visited the glass blowers who inhabit the surrounding isles?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Hariod, I really appreciate that! ❤
      No I haven't ever been to Venice, but I have a friend who visited there, he brought back some Italian glass beads for my daughter and they're lovely! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. i thought this was such a good post of exploration…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Isn’t glass making so amazing. We have several large programs here and I find it fascinating to even watch the process unfold. Love your results, pretty fabulous.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is amazing. I bet there are large programs there – I’ve picked up glass pieces from the Seattle area many times over the years during trips there to visit my sister. 🙂 Thanks Charlie!

      Like

  9. How fun! Well, except for having your mouth close to molten glass. That would be scary! The things you made turned out really good. Every time I try something like that my things look like a preschooler made them. I love the shapes and colors in your paperweight!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I looked quickly at the photo as I was reading and thought ‘no way has it been cold enough for ice!’ You got me! Both pieces are beautiful, Julie. I hope you do it again. Would love to see more 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You are too hard on yourself! For your first attempt, these are awesome. 🙂 The icicle will be a treasured Christmas ornament family heirloom! And your ‘paperweight’ you could make wearable by gluing a clasp on the back or wiring for a pendant. You ARE an artiste!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Funny, the instructor kept telling us not to be too hard on ourselves too and to not expect perfection when it’s our first time ever working with glass, it takes practice. Thanks so much, Eliza. I don’t know about it becoming a treasured heirloom, but I’m definitely planning to hang my icicle on the Christmas tree, it should be really pretty with the lights. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Loved your post, reading of your adventurous experiences with glass blowing, gave a warm chuckle. Yes it is wonderful to try new things, it is the journey more than the destination for us in most of life’s issues that is important, but many fail to realise, and I am encouraged by your positive spirit in seeing this Jewels. Your icicle is a masterpiece, it fooled me for a second ot two, it looks quite cool, I mean really ‘cool’!

    Liked by 2 people

    • So glad you enjoyed it and that my mishaps with the glass blowing gave you a chuckle. 🙂 I don’t know about it being a masterpiece, but it certainly is ‘cool’ 😉 Thanks so much, I really appreciate that!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Really beautiful, more so that you made them yourself. I did know, actually. My mother’s mother used to work in a glass shop. Glass menagerie for days. Lovely art.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Joey, I really enjoy making things and working with my hands. I’ve always loved glass, but I now have a whole new appreciation for it knowing what goes into creating things with it. How cool that your Grandma used to work in a glass shop. This was my first time in a glass studio/classroom and it was really interesting, I was really lovin’ the art vibe! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. I love this out of your box exploration and creativity Julie! The results are quite lovely 🔥

    Liked by 1 person

  15. It looks like the world’s niftiest crystal ball! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Wow!! I’m impressed. Thank you for giving us some details about the glass blowing process too. I love to learn new things – maybe glassblowing will be in my future 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, it was a fun and interesting experience. I don’t think I’ll be trying the glass-blowing part again though, it was unsettling to me having molten glass so close to my face – especially when it blew up, but I would definitely enjoy learning additional glass-working techniques. 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

