Under the Crescent Moon

 

Pastel skies glow through barren branches

as a crescent moon dangles amid them like a delicate jewel

My thoughts become wistful, my heart full of love

And as the stars gradually begin to appear in the sky

I wish upon every one of them, whispering a silent prayer

that one day

we will look up at this same sky together

no longer separated by distance or circumstance

and lay together in each other’s arms dreaming

under the crescent moon

 

© Julie Rehnelt 2015

DSCF9602a1

~

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

38 responses to “Under the Crescent Moon

  1. Beautiful, Julie! Last night’s crescent was so lovely, and the stars, oh the stars! You expressed it perfectly!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Dorinda! Aw, I’m sad I missed it, I didn’t get a look at the sky last night, this photo was from this past weekend – the evening of the ‘sunshine tree’ actually. I was dazzled by both sun and moon that day! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I would consider that pure perfection!! I am such a sky watcher. My son is also, my daughter gives me strange looks, lol and my husband just started paying attention. So much to see!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know, right?! It really was a magical day – and night!
        Oh gosh, me too – my face is forever turned upward, I love the sky! ❤
        Haha my family is used to it now, my sister will even text me sometimes with just the word "moon" and I will literally stop whatever I'm doing to go out look at it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I can’t tell you how many people I’ve walked into because I do that LOL Have a wonderful day. my friend. Don’t forget to check out the moon tonight!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha oops! Thanks, you have a wonderful day too! ❤ And I won't forget to look at the moon tonight! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful picture! The night sky is indeed a wonderful canvass for our wishes. I can almost hear the yearning of your lovely poem.:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a nice framing of the crescent moon.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Dangling like a delicate jewel” — that’s just beautiful phrasing, right there! Lovely stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That…that is the perfect poem to complement such a lovely picture. Well done, Julie.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A beautiful poem, photo and reminder to live in wonder and connection. May we wake up to our oneness… ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful! I hope your wishes come true. It seem like they should when made upon such a magical sky!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. So lovely Julie. Thank you for this touching moment 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Perfect, Julie! I was gazing at the crescent moon but did not photograph Her. I am so glad you did! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Amy! I was so surprised (and happy) that this photo even turned out – my camera often fails whenever I try photographing the moon. But I’ll never stop trying 🙂

      Like

  10. Absolutely wonderful, Julie! And such a lovely pastel sky and moon pic to go with it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh – so gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. So romantic–I love it, Julie!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Thank you for such a touching post; I always enjoy your thoughts and images.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Dreamy shot and wonderful words.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. so lovely so dreamy both your words and pic : )

    Liked by 1 person

  16. This is just gorgeous– full of whimsy- love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. A beautiful image. I really like this poem. The structure, the images, the mood. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

