Don’t Be Shy

Don’t be shy

Lift up your eyes

Let your beauty shine

 

Like the sun

 

© Julie Rehnelt 2017

 

I found this lovely gem springing up between the cracks along the stairway outside my back door.  I didn’t plant it there, so my guess is that some of the black oil sunflower seeds that I feed the birds scattered there and sprouted.  What a delightful surprise!  I adore sunflowers and didn’t have a place to plant any this year, so I appreciate nature planting some for me in a place it saw fit – right out our backdoor, where we go in and out the most and can enjoy it’s beauty.

When I walked past it yesterday, I thought it looked like it was being shy with its head slightly tilted down, and its petals not yet fully opened reminded me of eyelashes.  I added a filter to this photo, which I never do, and edited it to give it a bit of a nostalgic feel, because that’s how I was feeling while looking at it.  I can’t wait until it “lifts up its eyes” and “let’s its beauty shine.” 🌻

 

May your day shine with beauty today, and with joy…

 

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

 

16 responses to “Don’t Be Shy

  1. A shy sunflower….so pretty, Julie. Hope you are doing well on this almost-Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Lois. 😊
      I’m doing okay, right now I’m procrastinating starting my garage sale this morning. It’s going to be 87 degrees today, so I’m not sure I want to work outside in the heat.
      I hope you’re doing well, my beautiful friend. ❤
      Happy almost-Friday!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful words for a beautiful flower. Love the photo, too! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the nostalgic filter and shy pose of your sunflower Julie. 🙂 How sweet that nature gifted you with this beauty. May she shine brightly. We must have been in synch today; I wrote a haiku called Shining Brightly about a yellow dahlia! 🙂
    https://writingtofreedom.com/2017/07/20/shining-brightly/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That is a delightful surprise! My MIL gets gobs of volunteer plants around her feeders. They’re in full sun and I think they make a nice addition and attraction for the birdies.
    My sunflowers are still creepin up, up, up! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed it is! I used to let the area underneath my bird feeders go wild when I lived out in the country and it was so lovely to see the sunflowers & thistle growing there. Living with my mom, she likes a more manicured, tidy look in the yard, so I keep the area mowed. But when I first noticed this little beauty sprouting through the cracks next to the stairs, I told her right away that it was a sunflower and I intended to let it grow. 🙂

      Like

  5. This is so lovely, Julie. I like when the birds plant sunflowers for us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Smiling … yes 💛 When the time is right and the sun is high in the sky we can’t help ourselves 🌻

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful sunflower. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

