Spring’s Reflections

The Earth tilts on her axis

Temperatures rise

Ice thaws on frozen lake

And as the sun sinks on the horizon

the sky expands

as melting waters mirror

spring’s reflections

~

© Julie Rehnelt 2024

Oh, how I’ve missed being able to see reflections on water. Minnesota is the ‘Land of 10,000 Lakes’, all of which, have been frozen and iced over for the past few months, and many still are. I’m one of those rare ones who actually likes the winter, but ya know what I like more? The changing of the seasons. There’s something deep within me that stirs and seems to come alive. Some internal clock or calendar of sorts maybe, that senses a shift. Springtime is especially appreciated because so many other aspects and parts of nature come back to life during this time. It renews and refreshes the soul. Just hearing the birds singing again makes me breathe a little deeper and sigh…

Nothing like the changing of the seasons to inspire a bit of creativity and the motivation to write. It’s been ages since I’ve written any poetry. Though, it’s always within me, it’s just not written out in words. And even though what came out today isn’t anything exceptional or especially ‘share worthy’, I’ve decided that I want to put it out into the world anyways. You never know how what you have to share might help lighten another in some way. There’s SO much out in the world to the contrary – most things of which I can’t do anything about. But I can do this. I can share from my heart, words and feelings, expressing my appreciation for the beauty of nature.

The above photo was taken on a walk at my favorite local lake/park last evening as I paused to enjoy the reflections, all the while being serenaded by the sound of trumpeting geese who were clearly pleased at finding open waters.

I hope whomever may come across this, in whatever season it may be where you are, feels just a little lighter afterwards. I’m sending out love to you all…

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

16 responses to “Spring’s Reflections

  1. Welcome back Julie! It’s so nice to see you back on WP. I totally agree and resonate with your message about spreading kindness, change of seasons, and reflections. I don’t love winter but I do enjoy the changing seasons. Hugs…💖

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A lovely resurfacing, Julie – poetry, prose, and photography

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful to hear from you again! INjoY!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How lovely to see you post again Jewels.You have such a beautiful appreciation of Creation and the changing seasons. Like yourself I love the cooler months and the changing seasons are my most appreciated times also. Blessings my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Ashley, it’s great to see you too! Thanks so much! I hope all is well with you and yours over there. Blessings to you as well, my friend! 🤗

    Like

  6. Beautiful photo and prose, Julie. So nice to see your post– blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy early spring Julie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great to see you back here, Julie ~ especially with spring in the air. It is always the most exhausting season for me, part because everything comes to life around us – and we too experience something within that wants to come alive after a cold winter season. Beautiful writing to reflect on the appreciation we all have in the spring. 

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!