Herbal Adventures

For many years I have believed in the medicinal and therapeutic benefits of herbs, and I rather like/prefer the idea of using natural remedies as a way to promote health and wellness.

One herb in particular that I know I’ve mentioned on numerous occasions how much I love is lavender.  Although it is said to have oodles of healing benefits, I just love it for the scent and the color of it, and for the way it makes me feel.  ♥   Yeah, no scientific studies or research by “experts” needs to be done on lavender to prove to me that it helps calm and soothe the senses.  Mmm…

But aside from lavender there are many other herbs that provide equally beneficial healing properties for a wide range of ailments, not to mention culinary pleasures as well.  I know I’m a bit of a nature freak, but seriously how cool is it that everything we could possibly need for health and wellness in life can be found somewhere on this beautiful earth of ours?

Unfortunately, a lot of the age-old knowledge for natural remedies has gotten a bit lost in this era of “modern” medicine.  But herbal medicine is making a comeback, albeit as an “alternative” type of therapy.  The thing with herbalism is that it  works best when practiced holistically, meaning with the intent to bring healing to the entire body to get at the source of physical and emotional imbalance, rather than just treating the symptoms.  So it often requires one to examine other areas such as diet, lifestyle, and mental attitude, taking into consideration the role that these factors also play in keeping you healthy or contributing to disease.  Plus, it’s a process, in many cases the healing actions of herbs take place over a period of time, so one doesn’t get immediate results like those that can be found in taking a pill.  But the long-term results of herbal medicine is often a much deeper healing, and for many people it’s well worth the wait.

Anyway, the reason I bring all of this up is because I’ve been playing “mad-scientist” here concocting some herbal remedies, and I’ve been having a lot of fun with it.  There is some degree of caution to take when working with herbs and one cannot go about things completely blind.  There is a science within herbalism just as with anything else, so I’ve been reading up on it quite a bit.  It all started with bringing my herbs inside to try and winter them over, and morphed from there because of my recent health concerns.

I was at the second-hand store last week with my family, and as per usual I ended up in the used books section.  I have a tendency to get lost and completely absorbed amidst the books, so I try to resist wandering over to that part of the store.  😉

I hadn’t been specifically looking for any, but I found a few herb books…

DSCF0129a

When I got home I went in search of other herb books that I knew I had packed away somewhere.  Some of which included a huge Atlas of Herbal Medicine, dozens of Herbal Companion Magazines that I had a subscription to years ago, as well as a couple of aromatherapy books.

I’ve been scouring over them all ever since and needless to say, my interest in herbalism has been renewed.  I’m thinking that I might have to force encourage my sister to get back to working on the Master of Herbalism Program that she began a few years ago at the Midwest School of Herbal Studies, so that I can pick her brain, she can be my Obi-Wan Kenobi of all things herbal.   😉

~

Peace & love…

8 responses to “Herbal Adventures

  1. Lavender is just about my favorite thing in the world. My house and I are lavender’ed up like you wouldn’t believe! Well, YOU would, but many would not!

    Like

    • Mine too!!! Gosh, I seriously can’t even say how much I love it! Haha yes I would! 😉 Me and my house are lavender’ed up here as well! Over the past month or so, I even started a few new crafting projects using lavender (taking my addiction to a whole new level ;)) and I plan to put some of what I’ve created up for sale on Etsy at some point, but for now I’m just enjoying the heavenly scent while working with it, totally blissful! Hope you have a great weekend Joey! ♥

      Like

  2. As I was reading your post, Julie, I was thinking how lovely it would be for you to study this fascinating topic! It’s a great hobby and a valuable one too. The closer we can get to nature the better – as long as we realise and respect its potency!! 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Ruth, I’ve done a bit of studying here and there about herbalism over the years and have found it to be completely wonderful, but I got away from it recently with all of the major life events going on around me. Hopefully with this renewed burst of interest I’m having here I can go even further into learning about it, because as you said it really is a fascinating topic and valuable hobby. 🙂 Hope you are doing well there Ruth, take care, much love, and have a wonderful weekend.x

      Like

  3. Oooh, those books were a great find! My interest in herbs has also been renewed recently and there’s currently nothing I enjoy more than reading about them.

    Like

    • They were a great find and only $1.00 each! I’m really enjoying the “Herbs for Health and Healing” one so far, and highly recommend it if you’re wanting even more herb related reading material. 🙂 Hope you’re well today Trisha, have a nice weekend!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Cuckoo for Coconut Oil | Ramblings From Jewels

I'd love to hear from you!