Daily Archives: August 3, 2014

Garden Goodness

 

I’ve been enjoying lots of goodies from the garden this past week.  Just picked these green beans this morning…

DSCF7432a

I’ll give you one guess what type of veggies we’re having with dinner tonight.  😉

~

We’ve been enjoying a few tomatoes as well…

DSCF7153a

Unfortunately, the squirrels have been enjoying them too.  The past couple of mornings I’ve went out there, I’ve found half eaten tomatoes laying around on the ground.  Just as they’re beginning to ripen too, those little scoundrels!

~

Oh, but look at this huge zucchini I laid on the ground…

DSCF7392a

Teddy was out on the patio with me, so I put it down there next to him to show the massive size of this thing.  Granted, he’s a little dog, but that zucchini is nearly as big as he is!  There always seems to be at least one zucchini each year that hides down in the deep dark depths underneath the plant that escapes my notice until it’s so big that it can’t hide anymore.  I made some zucchini bread with it last night.  😀

~

I’m finally getting bell peppers, they’ve been really slow in developing.  Thankfully, there’s several more of them out there now since I took this photo…

DSCF7099a

~

And the cucumbers are still out there producing like champs…

DSCF7130a

I’ve got a creamy cucumber salad recipe I’m going to whip up this afternoon made with all of them.

~

There are a few things blooming out there too.   Mostly annuals though at the moment, like these Gazanias…

DSCF7032a

~

But I’ve got that gorgeous rain garden across the street to enjoy, blooming profusely with its sun loving plants and attracting all of those beautiful Monarch butterflies.  And the phlox in the flower bed are looking as lovely as ever…

DSCF7365a1

The ones we have planted on the other side of the house are starting to bloom as well, and I can already smell their sweet fragrance.

~

And my little strawberry plant is still getting pretty pink blossoms on it…

DSCF7106a

Of course, the strawberries growing on it aren’t anything to write home about, they’re just tiny things, but the plant is so cute!

~

I’m so pleased and thankful with how well everything is doing in my garden this year.  Thanks for letting me share a bit of its beauty and goodness with you ~ even if it’s only through photos via the internet.  😉

Hope you all have a wonderful, beautiful day!  ❤

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1