Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge: Weather

 

In general, I’m not usually a big fan of black and white photography, I rather prefer color, and only certain types of things look good in black and white, in my humble opinion.  But with this challenge being on the topic of weather and with my having so many opportunities to photograph the wintry frost formations on my windows, I thought I’d give it a try.

Of course it would be frost… what else would you expect from me?  😉

DSCF2719bw

Hmm… but I’m not so sure this works very well in black and white.  What do you think?

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

24 responses to “Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge: Weather

  1. Yes, I think it looks great Julie. For me, this series of shots is about shape and form rather than colour.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Hariod. 🙂 You’re exactly right, it is more about shape and form than color. Especially seeing as frost has no color of its own and borrows it from its surroundings.

      Like

  2. Beautiful!! The shapes, colors and wintery feel…lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice and I prefer the color ones. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think it works. I might have cropped in a little tighter, but it definitely works. Thanks.

    Like

  5. Frost is a perfect subject for black and white, especially in your lens

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Like you, I generally prefer color but this definitely works in black and white. I like the contrast between the frost and the dark tree branches in the background. The black and white make it look colder and more threatening feeling, like a storm might be coming in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like the contrast with the dark tree branches too, I only wish the frost showed up a bit whiter (rather than gray) and that it was sharper and more detailed.

      Like

  7. Grey sorbet isn’t so appealing to me …. but the composition is lovely:)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I prefer the color, because prisms, but it’s still pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I like this photo and as a rule I like most black and white photos. For more fun try the old fashioned way of using red or other color lens filters. Those can bring out details that are lost in most color photos.

    Like

    • I’m glad you like it! 🙂 Sounds like a cool idea, however, my camera is just a basic point and shoot type without all the bells and whistles, so it doesn’t have any lens filters.

      Like

  10. I love it! I am trying to warm up to B&W also, Julie…..

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love it! But I love it even more in color!! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Your image is such fun and so beautiful.

    Like

  13. Lovely – but I think the colour ones are much better.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!