Bunnies and Duckies and Chicks, Oh My!

Easter is just around the corner and even though bunnies, duckies, and chicks have absolutely nothing to do with the real meaning of Easter, it seems like this is the time of year when these adorable, fuzzy, little critters come onto the scene.

We raised rabbits, chickens and ducks for over 10 years and it was so much fun!  I really miss it ~ especially when spring rolls around.  So in my nostalgia, I scoured through some old photos and found a few that I thought I’d share…

This is Tickles ~ one of the many various ducks we raised over the years.  Aw, look at his precious little face.  ♥

~

Here is one of our smoked pearl colored Netherland Dwarf rabbits peeking out from its fur lined burrow.  Interesting rabbit fact you may not know… when mother rabbits are getting ready to deliver, they start pulling out the fur on their neck and chest to line their nest with it.

~

These were the very first chicks we started with.  We didn’t know which breed to go with, so we got one of each kind that they had available at the local farm & garden center.  I couldn’t even tell you now what breeds they were, but I remember each one of their names!  Interesting chicken fact you may not know… hens lay an egg each day regardless of whether or not there is a rooster around.

~

This was the first time our ducklings were in the water, and they were great little swimmers right from the start!

~

Look at this pretty bunny.  This was the photo we used for advertising purposes when selling our rabbits.

~

We also had this sign posted along the road out in front of our property…

~

While the Netherland Dwarf breed of rabbit are pretty, they aren’t really one of the friendliest.  But Holland Lops are ~ this little fella is Cookie, and he was the sweetest rabbit we ever had.  ♥

~

It was always so much fun each spring whenever we got new baby chicks!  This isn’t a very good photo of them, but there are about 25 fuzzy little peepers here.  They all wanted to stay warmed up under the heat lamp.

~

Yep, I sure miss having all these fuzzy little critters.  And the farm fresh eggs.  Also wish I had their droppings to use for compost for the new vegetable garden I’m putting in over at my mom’s.  Chicken and rabbit manure = wonderful fertilizer!  Haha it’s kinda gross when you think of it though… growing our food…that we eat… in animal poop.  😉

6 responses to “Bunnies and Duckies and Chicks, Oh My!

  1. Oh my such cute duckies and bunnies… makes me miss our baby chicks as they are big hens now.

    Like

  2. I’m finally catching up on your blog! Hadn’t realized I was so far behind! I love tickles!! We only raised ducks once but it was so fun! They were mallards that we hoped would stay and live on our pond, but they flew off in search of adventure. 😦

    Like

  3. Too cute *(^___^)*

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!