Winter’s Last Hurrah

I awoke to a world of snow yesterday morning, and even for as much as I am longing for spring, I couldn’t help but find the fresh snow incredibly beautiful.  So much so that I spent a good portion of the day outside enjoying it.  I had a lovely time, and I didn’t even get cold.  But I did stop at my favorite coffee house along the way to pick up a wonderfully warming chai tea latte, and that really hit the spot.

I know that everyone is filled with spring fever, myself included – gosh, I’m so excited at the thought of getting back out in my garden, and being amongst the green and growing things, I can hardly wait.  But as I am always aiming for being content, I also do what I can to try to live in and enjoy the present moment, no matter the circumstance.

Besides… we can’t control the weather, especially here in Minnesota, so it’s best to accept whatever we’re given and embrace the beauty.  And the beauty of the fresh, white snow beats the drab, dreary brown any day.  Plus, the moisture will help bring back the green and growing things.

I had my camera along with me while I was out there enjoying the beauty, so I took a few photos that I’d like to share.  Feel free to look away if you’re sick of winter and not in the mood, they’re not any big deal anyway, just some things I came upon that I thought were pretty.  I went to a few of my favorite spots, so if you’ve been here with me for a while, you may recognize some of them.

Spring, summer, fall or winter, nature is so beautiful to me, and being out in it feeds my soul…

 

Even in the dim lighting of this photo, how pretty is the contrast of these little red fruits against the white snow?  I had a bright red cardinal land on a branch on the tree outside my bedroom window yesterday morning and the contrasting color of him against the snow was a delight to my eyes.

DSCF4875a1

The white snow also makes the green of the pine needles look fresher

DSCF4942a1

It was definitely a very gray day out there, but I thought it was well suited with the white snow.

DSCF4921b1

And two of my favorite trees looked lovely dressed in white…

DSCF4993a1

DSCF4901a1

These two bridges looked pretty too…

DSCF5000a1

DSCF4840a1

And these geese didn’t seem to mind the snow…

DSCF4908a1

Although, they did mind me, and walked off quite hurriedly, honking at me, as I was trying to get closer to take their picture…

DSCF4912a1

I tried to tell them “I’m not gonna hurt you, I just want to take your picture, you silly gooses,” but they didn’t listen.

Even though I didn’t come across any people, you can see by all the footprints on this path, that many others besides myself had been out there walking around in the snow…

DSCF4829a1

I was happy to see that a little snow wasn’t stopping other people from getting outside and enjoying nature.  Those are my kind of people.  😉

And the snow isn’t stopping these cute, fuzzy little buds from emerging…

DSCF4968b1

See… spring is coming, this is just winter’s last hurrah.

Thanks so much for joining me, and I hope you find beauty wherever you are today…

~

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1

32 responses to “Winter’s Last Hurrah

  1. Fun and beautiful Julie, though I must admit I’m glad we didn’t have any snow. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are all so beautiful! I sure wish teleportation were possible because I would have loved to go with you on this excursion! I’m glad you’re enjoying what nature has brought you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful shots – I almost envy you the snow – only almost 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely, as ever. I saw a male cardinal in my apple tree yesterday. It had been quite a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Even on a grey day, your photos are beautiful. I especially like that Christmas tree laden with snow–so pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I was surprised at how accepting I was of the white three inches of snow upon the plants, car and other things surrounding my drive to work. I guess I don’t mind it so much like you said, “It’s only a last hurrah.” When you can see the light at the end of winter, somehow it doesn’t seem so bad! Smiling at this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Even with snow still in some parts of the country it will not be long until spring is everywhere. Robins have come to my garden and starting looking for materials to build a nest.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love how the snow covers the branches and then the sun highlights it in brilliant contrast. Love your pics Jewels, we never see snow here.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. There’s something very special about late snow … I loved it too! Great captures Julie!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Beautiful photos…my favorite is the pinecone/branch topped with snow.
    I’m with you…as long as we are out enjoying nature, no matter the weather, we are contented. I’m surprisingly complacent about spring’s delay, although I look forward to seeing flowers in the garden again (it seems like a dream to me right now) I can enjoy what is happening right now as well. We’ve had marvelous blue skies for days and even though its been pretty nippy, I’m loving walking in the sunshine!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love the pictures! Here there is 98.6 Fahrenheit so it was nice and cooling to see all that lovely snow 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Julie, you’ve got me all curious now…where did you take these? I keep thinking those bridges look familiar, but I can’t quite remember.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was all over the place, Simon… Kordiak Park, Silverwood Park, Honeywell Hill, Nicolett Island, Boom Island, and one other park that I don’t remember the name of. The first bridge photo is where Boom Island connects to Nicolett Island, I’ve shared photos of it before, and the second one was at Kordiak Park. I truly was a beautiful ‘sprinter’ day! 😉

      Like

  13. Beautiful! And somewhere beneath all that snow, spring awaits! 🙂 Cheers, Ben

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Thanks Benjamin! “And somewhere beneath all that snow, spring awaits!” You put that so beautifully! 🙂

    Like

  15. Gorgeous pictures!! You managed to make winter even more beautiful than it normally is 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. ArtiZenImages Maureen Medina

    You are right…every season has its own beauty. But it is nice when the extreme ones move on. 🙂 For me, it is summer!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!