Daily Archives: March 10, 2015

Farewell Winter

 

As the earth basks under a warm sun, winter grasses sway gently on a light breeze, waving farewell to cold white snow, and welcome to brisk blue waters

in joyous anticipation of spring.

 

© Julie Rehnelt 2015

DSCF4541a1

~

Gosh, just lovely, lovely weather we’re having here, it’s been sooo wonderful!  With our warmer temps and bright sunshine, it really gives the sense that spring is coming soon!  Although it will still be quite some time yet before things begin to grow again, we’re definitely thawing out here!  😀

I was out enjoying the beautiful weather with my sister the other day and snapped a few photos during our adventures along Lake Como and the surrounding area.

 

This was my favorite one…

DSCF4543a1

Although it’s not the best composition, I just think that bright blue sky with the white snow melting, and the beautiful bark of that birch tree with the green pine in the background is simply gorgeous.   It truly was just such a lovely day. ❤

 

Such a nice day in fact, that I couldn’t believe it when I saw there was an ice fishing house still out on the lake, along with some guy out there pulling his sled around on that clearly evident melting ice…

DSCF4550a

Crazy guy!

And this is no small lake, look at how far out there he was…

DSCF4554a

You can’t even see him!  I suppose he may have figured that since the ice was still supporting an ice house, it would be safe enough for him to be out there, but you wouldn’t catch me out there!  Hopefully he made out alright, we didn’t stick around long enough to find out.

 

As we continued on in our adventures, we came across this bridge…

DSCF4548a

I don’t usually take photos of structures, but I thought it was kinda pretty, so I took a photo of it.  I also took it because this bridge had an eerie feel to it and my sister, my daughter, and I have a private joke about seeing things as we’re out and about together and saying “I bet that’s haunted,” so I snapped a photo of it to show to my daughter because she wasn’t with us.  Then I tried to edit it to make it look more haunted, but I don’t really know what I’m doing, so think I failed…

DSCF4548o

But it was fun experimenting.  I don’t usually do much editing to my photos, I like leaving them in their natural state, it feels more authentic to me.  But sometimes I see the things other people do with editing and it looks kinda cool, so I may need to get myself more acquainted with photo editing at some point and see what I can come up with myself.

Not that I’ll have the time to do so right now as spring is rolling around – I heard we may hit near 70 degrees on Thursday!  So yeah… pretty sure I’ll be outside and not dinging around with trying to edit photos.  😉

Anyway, that’s all for now.  Hope the weather is nice where you are, and that you have fun things to ding around with.  I plan to ding around with getting my patio furniture and my bicycle out of storage.  Farewell winter!

 

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1