Daily Archives: June 15, 2014

Father’s Day

It’s Father’s Day today here in the US, and as I no longer have my Dad here with me, I’ve spent the morning looking through photographs of him… Shedding a few tears, but also smiling to myself, just as it often is when reminiscing… So many precious memories stored up inside the heart.

I’ve gathered some of my favorites from the pictures I looked through this morning, and thought I’d share them.

Some oldies…

 

This is one of the earliest photos we have of my Dad.  My Mom says he was only a teenager of maybe 17 at the time.  I love the way he is standing on the bumper and leaning against the hood of this old car…

dad teen

And here he is on the back porch of this house when he was over here one day visiting my Mom back when they were dating.  He looks so handsome, my Dad had such a great smile…

dad porch

Another one with his shirt off, I call this one his Superman picture.  I wish we had a better copy of it, it’s so worn and wrinkled, my Mom carried it in her wallet, I think.  I can see why… yowza!

Can't hurt steel

And I adore this one of my parents having dinner here at the house after they got married…

mom & dad

~

But as much as I love those old pictures of my Dad, these are how I remember him…

I know I’ve shared this before, it’s my all-time favorite picture of him from a day we all spent up at Lake Superior.  That’s my daughter in the background, just a little one back then, precious memories of a lovely day…

015

And I’m sure I’ve shared this one before too, it’s another one of my favorites because I love how his hair matches the snow.  His hair started turning white when he was pretty young (you can see streaks of it in the Superman photo).  Gosh, my Dad had such a gorgeous head of hair…

043

And here’s my Dad out in front of our house on his bicycle.  He loved riding his bike, and rode it nearly every day when weather permitted…

417967_3129304826853_106775442_n

And when he wasn’t out riding his bike he was relaxing in his chair…

100_1931

This next photo of my Dad with my Daughter at her graduation in 2010 is so very precious to me.  Although, it also makes me a bit sad too, because it clearly shows his health was declining.  My dad was such a wonderful Grandpa to my daughter, always there through all the special moments in her life.

Rach & Dad grad

This one makes me sad too because he’s waving, it makes my heart ache, wish I could give him a hug.  I miss you Papa, hope I see you again one day…

424160_3129304306840_769976374_n

May the angels watch over you until then…

079

 

✿~Peace & Love~✿

Peace and Love 1